Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    purplegang is offline Starter

Wilf says no trade in works for Pep

Updated: Feb. 24, 2006, 7:29 AM ET
    Report: Wilf tells Culpepper no trade in worksESPN.com news services
    Hounded by trade rumors in the media for more than a month, Minnesota quarterback Daunte Culpepper finally got some good news this week.

Daunte Culpepper
    Quarterback
    Minnesota Vikings

2005 SEASON STATISTICS
    Att Comp Yds TD Int Rat
    216 139 1395 6 12 72.0

In an e-mail to the media Thursday, Culpepper said he clarified his standing with Vikings owner Zygi Wilf.

"I want to update the fans of Minnesota and the NFL community on my status with the Vikings. Mr. Wilf and I spoke by phone on 2/21/2006, and we each shared our concerns about my present situation," Culpepper wrote. "He told me that the Vikings have not yet spoken to other teams about trading me. I shared my disappointment with the lack of communication and the false reports about me demanding more money coming out of Minnesota. I have requested further talks so that we can explore options for the future.

"In the meantime, I have made a good faith gesture toward the organization by offering to move my roster bonus around if it will help clear more cap space to sign free agents. If I am not traded, I want to help coach Childress make a serious run for the championship this year."

A team spokesman said Wilf would not comment on Culpepper's characterization of their conversation.

Last week, Culpepper said he planned to play for the Vikings in spite of reports that the organization is considering trading him.

On Thursday, five Minnesota players told the St. Paul Pioneer Press that they hoped Culpepper would remain a Viking.

"That's crazy," left tackle Bryant McKinnie told the Pioneer Press when asked about the Culpepper trade talk. "I don't agree with trading him. Last year, they traded Randy Moss.