Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    vikesfargo is offline Asst. Coach

Re: Does Jackson deserve another shot next year?

Tarvaris is 8-4 as a starting quarterback. He deserves to start again.

Bud Grant recently stated that we should give Tarvaris time.

If not Tarvaris, who? In 41 years of Super Bowls, the following Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks came to their teams as veterans acquired in free agency or by trade: Brad Johnson, Trent Dilfer, Doug Williams, and Jim Plunkett, All other quarterbacks that started for winning Super Bowl teams began as young, inexperienced players with the team.

I'm all for drafting another young quarterback in the late rounds of the draft, and keeping him for insurance or future tradebait, but for now Tarvaris Jackson is starting and developing, and I for one am happy to have him on the Vikes.

Go Vikings!

marstc09 is offline Jersey Retired

Yes TJ deserves a shot again next year unless we get McNabb or someone of his caliber and winning experience. I don't want Pennington. I don't think he can get it done like McNabb can.

Schutz is offline Team Alumni

I'd say why not?
    Just because I'd fear anyone Childress and the triangle of power would bring in.

TheWhizzinator is offline Waterboy

I might get ripped a new one for suggesting this, but I wouldn't mind bringing in Kyle Boller for a little competition. He has played much better the last 2 years (albeit in relief) with a patchwork offensive line and no WRs.

I personally do not think TJack is going to be a quality starter in the near future. I think he may be a quality starter later in his career if he continues to develop.

Remember, some QBs take quite a while develop into really good starters (Gannon, Testaverde) - but I don't see Tjack helping us get to the SuperBowl in the next 2-3 years.

jessejames09 is offline Ring of Fame

Does he deserve a shot? Yes.
    Does he deserve to have the job handed to him like he did this year? No.

stateVIKE44 is offline Pro-Bowler