Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Brohm

ThorSPL is offline Team Alumni

Re: Brohm

"aaeyers" wrote:
    I don't agree with the "strong arm is optional" stance at all. A strong arm is important for every quarterback, regardless of the system. Just look at Favre, what he was known for best was his ability to cram the ball into the smallest gaps and make throws that nobody else would dare try, simply because he had the strongest arm in the league for most of his career. If you don't think arm strength is important, I've got two words for you: Brad Johnson. I think we all remember how well he did last year in this offense.
    I'm pretty sure his arm is stronger than BJ's was...
    Heck I think some of our grandparents could've given him a run in the arm strength category towards the end... /sarcasm off.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

www.twitter.com/ThorSPL

Chazz is offline Coordinator

"Marrdro" wrote:
    "i_bleed_purple" wrote:
    I was watching the re-air of the 1994 game between the vikings and bears, and the announcer made a comment I agree with.
    He said it doesn't matter how strong a quarteback's arm is, as long as he has it in his head.
    meaning, as long as the player is smart, and knows where to go with the ball, he can be successful.
    Many of the great quarterbacks didn't have cannon's for an arm, but they were great because they were accurate and smart.
    Fran Tarkenton didn't have a great arm, but he's considered one of the best ever because he was smart with the football (and also because no one could catch him then)
    to put that in perspective, Michael Vick is faster than Fran, and has a cannon for an arm, but is dumb with the football and inaccurate, which is why his is not a good quarterback

In a WCO, a strong arm is a luxury, not a requirement.
    emphasis should be placed on finding a player who is smart with the ball, and accurate and can get the ball off quick.
    Mobility is also not a bad thing.