Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    AngloVike is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

When/how did you become a Viking fan?

My purple blood goes back to '83 and the days of Bud Grant. Channel 4 had started showing NFL football the year before but at that time none of the teams really grabbed my attention.
    So in '83 was the first pre-season game played outside of North America when the Vikes squared off against the-then St. Louis Cardinals at Wembley Stadium. I got tickets for the game, as Wembley was only a 20 minute drive away ( shortest journey I'll ever have to see them play ! )and then wondered who to support. I lived in Northolt which is a suburb on the edge of West London and for reasons I don't know, seems to have the name Vikings in various forms in the area. There is a Viking Sports soccer team, there was a pub called The Viking - always full of motorbikers. The clincher was that the local telephone exchange name, where I worked as an engineer, had been called Viking in the days before all-number dialling.
    So taking it as sign of fate and good fortune I went and saw my first live NFL game, joined the purple faithful and celebrated a 28-10 win over the Cardinals. The bonus was annoying the hell out of a group of Cardinal fans sat behind me who fumed as the 'brit' saw his adopted team beat them.
    Following them hasn't always been easy, especially in the early years as we had to make do with a highlights show a week behind, newpapers never had the results in until Tuesday ( wednesday for MNF games ) and generally information was hard to come by. I could write a long article on what being a NFL fan was like this side of the pond. Least now with the net and satellite TV I'm only a short way behind you guys with news and I have been very fortunate to finally get to the TC to see them again.
    My family and work colleagues just let me get on with, so you can say I have the purple blood well and truly.