Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    shockzilla's Avatar
    shockzilla is offline PPO Ambassador
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    6,204
    Blog Entries
    29

    Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    With a suggestion from Cajun (and because I consider myself a HUGE movie buff, and a relatively well-read guy), I am going to attempt to review movies perhaps once or twice a week. Don't worry, I won't give out any plot spoilers. I'll give my genuine opinion, and perhaps what to expect out of the movie. Feel free to agree or disagree!
    ;D

    With the beginning of the blockbuster season upon us, perhaps a good movie to start with is one that can be qualified as the first summer blockbuster: Ironman.

    Robert Downey Jr. plays very rich military industrialist/weapons designer Tony Stark, owner of Stark Industries. Gwyneth Paltrow plays his assistant Pepper Potts. Jeff Bridges plays Obadiah Stane, kind of the 2nd-in-command in Stark Industries.

    As the movie starts out, Tony Stark is riding riding in a convoy in Afghanistan with soldiers that he's just demonstrated his latest weapon design to when he's caught in the middle of an ambush. He's captured by the enemy and forced to built one of the weapons he's just demonstrated from basically the ground up.

    Instead, he builds a suit of armor and escapes from the enemy. However, his time in captivity has changed him. He's changed from a self-centered, money-loving playboy to someone who has finally realized the consequences of his "former" life and lifestyle, and vows to save the world and the people he once sold the weapons to, and for.

    Robert Downey Jr. is perfectly cast in the role of billionaire Tony Stark. His I-am-filthy-rich-and-I-don't-care-what-you-think-about-me attitude in the beginning is perfectly contrasted with the new person he becomes - he finds his "heart" - literally and figuratively. He becomes a modern-day Scarecrow in that sense.

    The special effects add to the experience of the movie, rather than distract you, and the movie has a sense of humor - and heart - running throughout. When he gives a speech about his father after escaping from the enemy in the desert, I teared up. There were genuine emotions in that scene that showed that the character really was beginning to see the error of his ways.

    There is a running joke in the movie about his robot assistant - you'll laugh when you see the movie and understand what I'm talking about.

    Overall, I give the movie 4 horns up out of 5!!!

    Shock
    PPO Ambassador, Defender of the Purple Faith and Guardian of the Gates of Valhalla

  2. #2
    BadlandsVikings's Avatar
    BadlandsVikings is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    26,569

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    What's it rated?

  3. #3
    Stryder3940 is offline Waterboy
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    Its rated PG-13.
    I would agree, its a movie that is done very well.
    I almost can't wait for the sequal.

  4. #4
    Formo's Avatar
    Formo is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    2,664

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    I'mma throw down my review, if you don't mind..

    This was one of those rare movies where you wish would be LONGER. Everything moved along great, the plot, the character development, and Iron Man himself. Even the 'slow' scenes, Stark kept it going with his awesomely witty comments.

    If you come in expecting a whole lot of the suit, you'll probably be disappointed, but you need to keep in mind this is an origin story and the buttkicking will in all likelyhood pick up in the sequel (yup, there's gonna be an Iron Man 2). Ultimately, it's a pretty well paced movie though, and Robert Downey Jr. plays the role excellently.

    Also, keep in mind, especially for those of you who stayed through the credits, that there WILL be more Marvel comic movies, and there WILL be character crossovers (it has been confirmed that Downey Jr. will make a short cameo appearance as Tony Stark in the upcoming Incredible Hulk movie).
    If any of you are like me, you'll have orgasms..
    Well, maybe not.
    But close.

    I give this movie a 5 of 5 horns.

    [size=6pt]the scale: 1 - Hated it. 2 - Didn't like it. 3 - It wasn't too bad. 4 - Liked it. 5 - Loved it.[/size]
    Vegans are eating the rainforests. =(

  5. #5
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,916

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    Hey Shock!!!
    Two comments.

    1.
    Loved the review.
    Wildman went to see it (relunctently) but came back raving about it.
    I might even go to an actual theater and see it instead of waiting for the release of the CD.

    2.
    What a great idea.
    You gonna do this for more movies?
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  6. #6
    ultravikingfan's Avatar
    ultravikingfan is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    24,514

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    Thanks bro.
    I was really not to sure if I wanted to see this movie.
    But, now I will.

  7. #7
    HEY's Avatar
    HEY
    HEY is offline Star Spokesman
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,201
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    I heard they were going to make a Thor movie. Anyone knows something about this?

    PS: Great idea, "Shockzilla"!!!

  8. #8
    V-Unit's Avatar
    V-Unit is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    6,317

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    Given the premise of the movie, they did as good a job as they possibly could have. Very Well Done.
    "I hate when threads are destroyed by facts and logic."
    - Prophet


    Thanks Josdin!

  9. #9
    jessejames09's Avatar
    jessejames09 is offline Ring of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    4,233

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    Couple questions.

    Has he lost his mind?
    Can he see or is he blind?
    Can he walk at all,
    Or if he moves will he fall?
    Is he alive or dead?
    Has he thoughts within his head?

  10. #10
    C Mac D's Avatar
    C Mac D is offline Posting to P'own
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    13,492

    Re: Shock's Movie Reviews - Ironman

    "jessejames09" wrote:
    Couple questions.

    Has he lost his mind?
    Can he see or is he blind?
    Can he walk at all,
    Or if he moves will he fall?
    Is he alive or dead?
    Has he thoughts within his head?
    Nobody wants him
    He just stares at the world
    Planning his vengeance
    That he will soon unfold
    Disclaimer: I'm an idiot.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Shock's Movie Reviews - "Land Of The Lost"
    By shockzilla in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-22-2009, 11:55 PM
  2. Shock's Movie Reviews - "Hellboy II: The Golden Army"
    By shockzilla in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-17-2008, 10:29 PM
  3. Shock's Movie Reviews - "Get Smart"
    By shockzilla in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-24-2008, 09:46 AM
  4. Shock's Movie Reviews - "Kung Fu Panda"
    By shockzilla in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-08-2008, 09:59 PM
  5. Shock's Movie Reviews - Speed Racer
    By shockzilla in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-15-2008, 09:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •