Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    i_bleed_purple is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

Question for those in the IT field.

I'm currently taking a Bachelors of Computer Science, but was thinking of perhaps switching to a Bachelor of Information Technology, specializing in Network management.

Do any of you have one of the above degrees, or work in the above fields?
    I'm not too familiar with the current demand for people with those specializations, and although i will be looking into it further, i'd love to hear if any of you knew about which has a higher demand, which can take you further, etc.

dakkar59 is offline Waterboy

Re: Question for those in the IT field.

I graduated from UW Eau Claire, Wisconsin in 06' w/ a degree in Management Information Systems.
    Basically how i see it, Computer Science people will earn more out right after colllege, but after a few years w/ an MIS degree you will be making the same if not more.
    I'm already making as much as some of my CS major buddies.

A lot of it comes down to how you feel:
    Do you want to deal w/ people?
    Do you prefer to just program and stick with your programming group at work?

Blog Entries

I have no problem dealing with people, but I'm getting the feeling that sitting in a cube writing code could get rather tedious.
    I had a summer job helping out with the IT department at a company, helping configuring firewalls and wireless access points, which I found i liked better than writing programs, which is part of what a network administrator would be doing.

dakkar59 is offline Waterboy

If you prefer network admin stuff, then it sounds like you made up your mind already.
    Coding gets extremely tedious unless you enjoy it.

Blog Entries

if you don't mind me asking, what kind of job did you get?
    was it the first job you got after graduating? and how long did it take you to find a job that you wanted?

ThorSPL is offline Team Alumni