Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    vikingTurf Guest

Debts Consolidation

Fellow PPOer's, do you know if you consolidate your student loans, credit card debts and all, does that significantly change my credit profile. The only thing I am concerned about is I don't want to consolidate now if that lowers my credit profile in a really bad so much so that in future once I have job and all I can't buy a house or sth because of this consolidation thing. Right now I am a student and my monthly GA salary is not enough to pay for all my bills/rent etc...and I also don't want to live like this for another year or so when I finally graduate. Any advices will be much appreciated.

Webby is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Re: Debts Consolidation

You have to be careful whether its through a credit counseling agency or just a straight consolidation loan. Through the CCA, sometimes it will be flagged as settlements or reductions in payments and can have negative impact.

Having one single loan, all consolidated and probably giving you a lower percentage rate will appear as all the other bills paid off, and a new larger loan open. Bad thing is higher balance to credit limit, which is a small ding, but probably saving money is the most important thing right now...and hopefully you get the right consolidation loan so its interest over the course of all your debts is significantly lower. As you pay down the higher balance your available credit ratio will improve and thus your points.

Thats how I understand it.

JDogg926 is offline Star Spokesman

With student loans, you're better off consolidating and being able to pay your monthly bill, rather than having several missed or late payments.
    542cbf305f333b0554e8ffa937f852d6

vikingTurf Guest

Thanks for the advices!

VKG4LFE is offline Jersey Retired Tetris Champion, Monkey GO Happy 4 Champion