Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Vikes is offline Team Alumni

The Concept of MySpace and Blogs!

Out of respect for what snowinapril said in regards to Dungy's son. I decide to start this discussion away from that tragic thread out of respect.

I need to admit I don't get why you want to share with the world who you are? I'm not trying to put those who have pages on those sites down. I just don't get it.

Let me just start by saying I work for a living, I'm a new husband, and father. I don't have time in the day to sit and work on some web page about me. Maybe Myspace and Blogs are for the young with a lot of times on their hands.

I know when I was young back in the gulp BBS days I spent a lot of time online. So to me the Internet is nothing more than BBS 2.0. I don't have the need to spend a lot of time online. I enjoy only this site to discuss the Vikings and to learn more about the sport of football from the likes of DEL RIO and others. But to put together a shrine for others to visit online seems like a waste of time to me (IMO).

This Dungy thing is kind of tragic in the fact my current Brother-Law on my wife's side is getting a divorce. This wife of his has been a hand full. Make a long story short she has a MySpace account and links to all these friends. Anyway she has written some crazy stuff to others on their sites and one guy has a link to some shots himself naked, you get the picture. Anyway he is sharing this me last night and I finally said to myself what a bunch of nonsense this stuff is (IMO).

Then Dungy's kids site pops-up and I'm like my god what the heck is that. I guess my point in sharing this with everyone is privacy is something to be valued and respected. Sharing or promoting who you are now may not be what you want in the future.