Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound

Happy 60th Birthday Bikini!

Posted on Sun, Jul. 02, 2006

[size=18px]HAPPY BIRTHDAY![/size]

Little piece of fabric that shocked the world

By Margo Millure
    For The Sun News

When the Grand Strand's teen and 20-somethings hit the beach this summer, they'll be wearing bikinis not so different from ones their grandmothers used to wear.

Theoretically could have worn, anyway.

The bikini, defined as a two-piece bathing suit that dips below the navel, may be turning 60, but is nowhere near ready for retirement. In fact, the fashion icon was a late bloomer. On many family-oriented U.S. beaches, it didn't gain its top-drawer wardrobe status until decades after its debut in post World War II France.

Louis Reard, a car designer by trade and son of a lingerie shop owner, had observed that women, thrilled to be allowed to go back to the beach in the two years after liberation from Nazi Occupation, were experiencing a second liberation, rolling and hiking up their swimsuits for maximum sun exposure along the beaches of St. Tropez. He unveiled the first bikini on July 5, 1946, on the dazzling form of a Parisian dancer, the only model he could find willing to wear the garment made from 30 square inches of fabric.

Initially, the bikini was dismissed as a failure. Women outside of France were no where near ready to don the scandalous design. Spain, Portugal and Italy banned the suit. In the conservative-minded U.S., Vogue in 1954 was still promoting swimsuits with small jackets, so women "could look more dressed, than undressed."

"And God Created Woman," featuring Brigitte Bardot in a scant bikini, was released in the U.S. in 1958, bringing the suit to the attention of the American masses. Then in 1960, Cosmopolitan ran an article proclaiming: "Bikinis are Here!"