Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    davike is offline Team Alumni

Re: Puppy Training Help?

"snowinapril" wrote:
    Never had my dogs in a crate.
    I did use a large card board box at night for the first week or two until they got use to the schedule.
    Schedule is important too, routine.

I am not an expert, didn't read any books on the subject, just had lots of patience and liked the challenge.
    Puppy pads and crates just seemed like they were too confusing.
    I have seen too many dogs trained that way that were really messed up.
    They didn't do it right.

All I got to say

Thanks Josdin00 for the sig!

Jilly is offline Coach

"snowinapril" wrote:
    It really depends on how much time is on your hands and how consistent the training is.

I have found the best method is to let them outside A LOT!
    If you don't have time to take them outside a lot, I would suggest that as soon as you let them out of the crate, take them outside and give them a treat for doing what you ask of them, to pooh and pee.

Use consistent word for pooh and pee and give them a treat when you say pooh or pee and they go where they are suppose to.
    The reward has to be immediately after/during the bodily function.

With that said, I would hate to have to do this in an apt or any place without a yard.

My dogs were fully trained in 4 weeks.
    Even then, the accidents were as expected at first and after a couple of weeks, I could take them outside and get them to go on command.
    I trained 2 puppies at once.
    They were also around 8-10 weeks when we brought them home.
    Also, I would give them water and then 5-10 minutes later, take them outside and ask them to do their business, saves them the hassle of trying to keep it in and is a good chance to reward them positively.

Important Word:
    Outside
    Pooh (use your own regionally accepted word LOL)
    Pee (use your own regionally accepted word LOL)

Never had my dogs in a crate.