Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ok PC Guys

  1. #1
    ultravikingfan's Avatar
    ultravikingfan is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    24,514

    Ok PC Guys

    Here's one for PC people.

    My PC's power supply took a crap and brought the motherboard with it.
    Now, I have a lot of important stuff on my 'C' drive that I need.
    What is the best way to retrieve that info?
    Can I put tha drive into an enclosure and make it an external drive?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    PacNWVike's Avatar
    PacNWVike is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    West Richland, WA
    Posts
    2,270

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    As long as your "C" Drive wasn't fried with the motherboard, you should be able to connect it to any other functional PC and retrieve the data.
    The OS should automatically recognize it as another drive (XP does).
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."
    Edmund Burke

  3. #3
    Articnv's Avatar
    Articnv is offline Coach
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    1,014

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    depending on the OS and your boss on the back there should be some pins.
    If your going to plug the drive into
    another computer you will need to take and look at were the power goes in on the back of the hard drive
    from old pc.
    There should be some pins with a
    little black sometimes blue piece. Thats called a jumper.
    To get to to work right in a
    2 drive system you will need to change the jumper setting from master to
    slave.
    Tweezer works great.
    Soem hard drives will have the

    jumper setting printed on it other will have it on there website.
    Make sure when taking the case apart you dont use any magnetic tip screw drivers the computer is off.
    and the power supply is
    unplugged from
    the surge protector..
    This can earse hard drives.
    Once you have the case cover off look
    for for the grey cord that
    goes from your mother board to the hard drive on the cord there should be a
    second one plug
    in to the hard drive (red strip
    goes towars power supply).
    The plug in the power to the
    HDD.
    reput on case,
    reconnect power supply and boot up pc.
    If your
    using a system old then
    2000 you may have to change bios settings for it to be recognized.
    Once your loaded into windows
    and the hdd inst
    fried you should be able to get the data back baring both OSes are formatted the same ie
    fat32 and fat32.
    if on is ntfs file you may get corrupted data or files that wont open

  4. #4
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,212

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    When mine crapped out, I simply took the drive out, changed the jumper to slave, unplugged the ribbon cable & power cord from the new computers CD drive & plugged that into the now slave hard drive.

    Then you can explore that drive & retrieve any info you want & click & drag it to the new C: drive

    Be sure to unplug the power cord from the computer before opening up the case.

    If I can do it with my limited computer knowledge, anyone can.

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  5. #5
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    I just have one of the minions pull the info for me.


    By the way Z, they are happy to do it or management cause they think it will get them some sort of pat on the back.
    ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  6. #6
    pack93z's Avatar
    pack93z is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,465

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    "singersp" wrote:
    When mine crapped out, I simply took the drive out, changed the jumper to slave, unplugged the ribbon cable & power cord from the new computers CD drive & plugged that into the now slave hard drive.

    Then you can explore that drive & retrieve any info you want & click & drag it to the new C: drive

    Be sure to unplug the power cord from the computer before opening up the case.

    If I can do it with my limited computer knowledge, anyone can.
    That is the easiest and safest approach.. additionally, I leave a second harddrive on my PC as a redundant storage center for the important files. Cheap protection.

  7. #7
    ultravikingfan's Avatar
    ultravikingfan is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    24,514

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    Sweet!
    Ya, I know how to set the jumpers and install hard drives.

    Thanks guys

  8. #8
    PacNWVike's Avatar
    PacNWVike is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    West Richland, WA
    Posts
    2,270

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    "pack93z" wrote:
    "singersp" wrote:
    When mine crapped out, I simply took the drive out, changed the jumper to slave, unplugged the ribbon cable & power cord from the new computers CD drive & plugged that into the now slave hard drive.

    Then you can explore that drive & retrieve any info you want & click & drag it to the new C: drive

    Be sure to unplug the power cord from the computer before opening up the case.

    If I can do it with my limited computer knowledge, anyone can.
    That is the easiest and safest approach.. additionally, I leave a second harddrive on my PC as a redundant storage center for the important files. Cheap protection.
    Absolutely!
    After losing not one, but two drives worth of data I bought an external drive for use in auto backup.
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."
    Edmund Burke

  9. #9
    ultravikingfan's Avatar
    ultravikingfan is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    24,514

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    "PacNWVike" wrote:
    "pack93z" wrote:
    "singersp" wrote:
    When mine crapped out, I simply took the drive out, changed the jumper to slave, unplugged the ribbon cable & power cord from the new computers CD drive & plugged that into the now slave hard drive.

    Then you can explore that drive & retrieve any info you want & click & drag it to the new C: drive

    Be sure to unplug the power cord from the computer before opening up the case.

    If I can do it with my limited computer knowledge, anyone can.
    That is the easiest and safest approach.. additionally, I leave a second harddrive on my PC as a redundant storage center for the important files. Cheap protection.
    Absolutely!
    After losing not one, but two drives worth of data I bought an external drive for use in auto backup.
    Can you set it to auto backup whenever you want?

  10. #10
    PacNWVike's Avatar
    PacNWVike is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    West Richland, WA
    Posts
    2,270

    Re: Ok PC Guys

    "ultravikingfan" wrote:
    "PacNWVike" wrote:
    "pack93z" wrote:
    "singersp" wrote:
    When mine crapped out, I simply took the drive out, changed the jumper to slave, unplugged the ribbon cable & power cord from the new computers CD drive & plugged that into the now slave hard drive.

    Then you can explore that drive & retrieve any info you want & click & drag it to the new C: drive

    Be sure to unplug the power cord from the computer before opening up the case.

    If I can do it with my limited computer knowledge, anyone can.
    That is the easiest and safest approach.. additionally, I leave a second harddrive on my PC as a redundant storage center for the important files. Cheap protection.
    Absolutely!
    After losing not one, but two drives worth of data I bought an external drive for use in auto backup.
    Can you set it to auto backup whenever you want?
    If you use the right software.
    I'm using Norton 360, which includes automatic back-up of your files whenever your computer is inactive.
    I'm sure Webby and some of the other cyber guys could clue you into cheaper/better programs, but this is what I use.
    It also includes virus protectection, PC tune-up, etc.
    A lot of bells and whistles that sound cool to a cyber dummy like me!
    How about it Webby????
    What should Ultra use?
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."
    Edmund Burke

Similar Threads

  1. One of the guys!
    By Mrs. Purple Packer Eater in forum Free Beer!
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 10-24-2007, 06:05 AM
  2. Cap Guys vs. Football Guys
    By Prophet in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2006, 04:03 PM
  3. Sorry guys
    By enlvikeman in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-25-2005, 11:09 PM
  4. omg you guys!
    By parsongeorge in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 03:30 PM
  5. If only we had guys like this...
    By ultravikingfan in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 03:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •