Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46
  1. #21
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "NordicNed" wrote:
    "NDVikingFan66" wrote:
    "singersp" wrote:
    "NordicNed" wrote:
    "marstc09" wrote:
    You should get set up with a wireless router. That way the kid and wife can surf while you do as well. I can set it up for you when I get there if you don't know how. I have it at home and it is sweet.



    Marstc,






    Looks like I may have to take you up on that offer.

    I only need some input now on what model and maker of router to go out and buy.






    If this helps,
    My PC and server are,

    Dell PC w / WindowsXP


















    Laptop, is a Dell Inspiron
    W / Vista






    Let the suggestions begin !

    ;D







    Thanks for the help,









    Ned and Margie
    Go to Best Buy & pick up a Linksys WRT54G router.
    I agree with Singer

    Well, if it works for Singer, should be able to handle my stuff with no problem....Most I'll download is some Disney type stuff for David.

    Lord knows Singer ( King of Porn Downloads)
    must put that Linksys thru some heavy duty testing at home..... ;D
    Linksys, Belkin, D-Link - they are all pretty much the same.
    You just need to make sure you get the CORRECT wireless signal to ensure the quickest speeds.
    That's the "G" part of the router name.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  2. #22
    NordicNed is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    9,511

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "Zeus" wrote:
    "NordicNed" wrote:
    "NDVikingFan66" wrote:
    "singersp" wrote:
    "NordicNed" wrote:
    [quote author=marstc09 link=topic=45508.msg789464#msg789464 date=1212800398]
    You should get set up with a wireless router. That way the kid and wife can surf while you do as well. I can set it up for you when I get there if you don't know how. I have it at home and it is sweet.



    Marstc,






    Looks like I may have to take you up on that offer.

    I only need some input now on what model and maker of router to go out and buy.






    If this helps,
    My PC and server are,

    Dell PC w / WindowsXP


















    Laptop, is a Dell Inspiron
    W / Vista






    Let the suggestions begin !

    ;D







    Thanks for the help,









    Ned and Margie
    Go to Best Buy & pick up a Linksys WRT54G router.
    I agree with Singer

    Well, if it works for Singer, should be able to handle my stuff with no problem....Most I'll download is some Disney type stuff for David.

    Lord knows Singer ( King of Porn Downloads)
    must put that Linksys thru some heavy duty testing at home..... ;D
    Linksys, Belkin, D-Link - they are all pretty much the same.
    You just need to make sure you get the CORRECT wireless signal to ensure the quickest speeds.
    That's the "G" part of the router name.

    =Z=
    [/quote]




    Zeus,









    How do I go about figuring that out?
    I should add the fact that Mars is going to be in the State for buisness in a couple of weeks, so I probably will just wait for him when he visits to help me out.
    I take it from your last post he learned what is needed from you.
    Now its time for me to learn from him.
    Nice how knowledge can be spread around.









    Since Marstc went with the D-link himself and had no problems, I'm thinking of getting the same model so it will be familiar to him.
    I just hope I'm not making a mistake by doing this.
    Is there any info I can share with you to help me make the rght choice?







    Thanks,







    Ned


    I LOVE THE SMELL OF VICTORY IN THE MORNING AIR.

  3. #23
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "NordicNed" wrote:
    Zeus,









    How do I go about figuring that out?
    I should add the fact that Mars is going to be in the State for buisness in a couple of weeks, so I probably will just wait for him when he visits to help me out.
    I take it from your last post he learned what is needed from you.
    Now its time for me to learn from him.
    Nice how knowledge can be spread around.










    Since Marstc went with the D-link himself and had no problems, I'm thinking of getting the same model so it will be familiar to him.

    I just hope I'm not making a mistake by doing this.
    Is there any info I can share with you to help me make the rght choice?







    Thanks,








    Ned
    Ned - if you've got the time, you can get educated.

    Start here - really nice article.
    Work through some of the techie details and it should answer most of your questions at this point:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi

    As I noted above - the 802.11g protocol is the standard these days and any wireless router (most likely) will broadcast that protocol.


    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  4. #24
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    Hey Ned.

    Until you get your new router do a couple of things for me....

    1. Take the cable I sent you and plug it into the back of the computer you are using and test it.
    I had the minions test it but alas, I didn't witness the test.
    You know how flunkies are.
    Sometimes they cut corners.


    I should have tested it myself to make sure.
    ;D

    2.
    Just call your providers tech support number.
    If you don't have it, google them and you should be able to find a number that you can call to get it.
    When you set up your service they probably took some information (Mothers maiden name, Favorite Pet etc) that they will use to verify you are really you.


    Once they do that they will reset your router password to a default password that you can then change.
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  5. #25
    NordicNed is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    9,511

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "Marrdro" wrote:
    Hey Ned.

    Until you get your new router do a couple of things for me....

    1. Take the cable I sent you and plug it into the back of the computer you are using and test it.
    I had the minions test it but alas, I didn't witness the test.
    You know how flunkies are.
    Sometimes they cut corners.


    I should have tested it myself to make sure.

    ;D

    2.
    Just call your providers tech support number.
    If you don't have it, google them and you should be able to find a number that you can call to get it.
    When you set up your service they probably took some information (Mothers maiden name, Favorite Pet etc) that they will use to verify you are really you.


    Once they do that they will reset your router password to a default password that you can then change.






    Thanks for the heads up Marr, but I've done both now.....The cable works fine, because I disconected the cable that is in place from my modem ( comcast ) to my PC and replaced it with your cable.
    It worked just fine, and I had it at full length, the two pieces where put together.








    As for Comcast,
    everything is set,
    but I was told that they have something in place that won't let me network ..??????
    They want $150 to come and hook me up, so I'm just going to by my own router and have Mars hook it up for me when he visits in two weeks...








    God I love putting my visitors to work...LOL


    I LOVE THE SMELL OF VICTORY IN THE MORNING AIR.

  6. #26
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "NordicNed" wrote:
    "Marrdro" wrote:
    Hey Ned.

    Until you get your new router do a couple of things for me....

    1. Take the cable I sent you and plug it into the back of the computer you are using and test it.
    I had the minions test it but alas, I didn't witness the test.
    You know how flunkies are.
    Sometimes they cut corners.


    I should have tested it myself to make sure.

    ;D

    2.
    Just call your providers tech support number.
    If you don't have it, google them and you should be able to find a number that you can call to get it.
    When you set up your service they probably took some information (Mothers maiden name, Favorite Pet etc) that they will use to verify you are really you.


    Once they do that they will reset your router password to a default password that you can then change.







    Thanks for the heads up Marr, but I've done both now.....The cable works fine, because I disconected the cable that is in place from my modem ( comcast ) to my PC and replaced it with your cable.

    It worked just fine, and I had it at full length, the two pieces where put together.








    As for Comcast,
    everything is set,
    but I was told that they have something in place that won't let me network ..??????

    They want $150 to come and hook me up, so I'm just going to by my own router and have Mars hook it up for me when he visits in two weeks...







    God I love putting my visitors to work...LOL

    Top Shelf by Mars.... ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  7. #27
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "NordicNed" wrote:





    I do have my PC and that is serviced by High Speed Cable with " Comcast "





    I dd recieve a new internet cable from Marrdro that is like 30 feet long.

    I just laid it out and it reaches my bed no problem.
    I unplugged the cable from the back of the Comcast Modem which runs to my PC.




    I tried Marrdro's new cord and it fits the jack that the other cable was in.





    I plugged the other end into the laptop and fired it up.

    I asked me some basic " do you want to set up provider " questions and I said yes.
    I now and stuck.
    I came upon a question that is asking for the name my provider ( comcast gave me ) for my PC and my password.





    It's been so long since I've used the comcast board for anything, I've forgotten them.
    Where can I find that info?
    could it be on my computer?..





    That's #1...and most important right now.

    I suppose I should have started in on this thread from the beginning....

    You should NOT have to supply a USERID/PASSWORD to connect your laptop to a cable modem.
    I've never heard or experienced such a thing.
    Once the cable modem connects to the cable company (using the MAC address of the cable modem), the internet connection out the back is live and available to any machine that connects to it.

    Do you have any neighbors who have teenagers?
    Do these neighbors like you?

    If so - get one of them to come over and help you get this connected.
    This should NOT be that difficult, and the talk of "UserIDs" and "Passwords" and "Calling Comcast" is just going to make it difficult.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  8. #28
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "Zeus" wrote:
    "NordicNed" wrote:





    I do have my PC and that is serviced by High Speed Cable with " Comcast "





    I dd recieve a new internet cable from Marrdro that is like 30 feet long.

    I just laid it out and it reaches my bed no problem.
    I unplugged the cable from the back of the Comcast Modem which runs to my PC.




    I tried Marrdro's new cord and it fits the jack that the other cable was in.





    I plugged the other end into the laptop and fired it up.

    I asked me some basic " do you want to set up provider " questions and I said yes.
    I now and stuck.
    I came upon a question that is asking for the name my provider ( comcast gave me ) for my PC and my password.





    It's been so long since I've used the comcast board for anything, I've forgotten them.
    Where can I find that info?
    could it be on my computer?..





    That's #1...and most important right now.

    I suppose I should have started in on this thread from the beginning....

    You should NOT have to supply a USERID/PASSWORD to connect your laptop to a cable modem.
    I've never heard or experienced such a thing.
    Once the cable modem connects to the cable company (using the MAC address of the cable modem), the internet connection out the back is live and available to any machine that connects to it.

    Do you have any neighbors who have teenagers?
    Do these neighbors like you?

    If so - get one of them to come over and help you get this connected.
    This should NOT be that difficult, and the talk of "UserIDs" and "Passwords" and "Calling Comcast" is just going to make it difficult.

    =Z=
    Probably not out of the question though.... ;D

    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/comcast/2.1_Modems

    Nor is the idea of calling thier tech support.... :P

    http://help.comcast.net/content/faqt...0-20e426b46a12
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  9. #29
    NordicNed is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    9,511

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...




    Okay,






    this is what I have and what I did.






    I have high speed Comcast cable.
    Their modem is connected to my PC via a cable, the name of this type of cable I'm not sure of, but it has the same connections on both ends and is the same connection that Marr sent to me ( The Cable he had made for me...)




    I disconnected my cable and hooked up Marr's to my modem and PC,
    PC still worked fine, so this told me Marrdro's cable was good.





    I then left Marr's cable hooked up to the modem, and pluged it into the laptop.
    Laptop fired up fine and clicked on the link
    Internet Service




    It gave me 3 options....Dial Up,
    High Speed Broadband,
    Wireless...




    I clicked on Broadband





    Then came up a block that asked for my servers
    ' User Name and Password "
    I put in both and it went into a search type mode for service.
    Nothing, nadda, it told me it could not find service.





    I called comcast to make sure I was using the correct name and password, and that there was no hidden suprises for me. Also talked about what I was attempting to do.
    They said it wouldn't work like that for me.
    That the modem knows it's not same computer I have service for, therefore It won't work.
    they
    said I need a network account setting and that they could hook me up for $150...



    I'm starting to believe this is just a wireless router, and I can do that on my own with some help..




    And Zeus, I appreiciate the help,
    but way ask if my neighboors like me?

    Why wouldn't they?




    My neighbors all love me....





    This is what I've done and where I am at now..





    I LOVE THE SMELL OF VICTORY IN THE MORNING AIR.

  10. #30
    cajunvike's Avatar
    cajunvike is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    32,063

    Re: NordicNed's, Help me with Laptop thread...

    "Zeus" wrote:
    "marstc09" wrote:
    "i_bleed_purple" wrote:
    "NordicNed" wrote:
    "marstc09" wrote:
    You should get set up with a wireless router. That way the kid and wife can surf while you do as well. I can set it up for you when I get there if you don't know how. I have it at home and it is sweet.



    Marstc,






    Looks like I may have to take you up on that offer.
    I only need some input now on what model and maker of router to go out and buy.






    If this helps,
    My PC and server are,
    Dell PC w / WindowsXP

















    Laptop, is a Dell Inspiron
    W / Vista






    Let the suggestions begin !

    ;D







    Thanks for the help,








    Ned and Margie


    Another good reason to get a router, is that if you hook up a second computer to your internet modem, your internet providor may charge you for two separate connections (Some do, some don't)
    Some background info about internet, some you may know, some you may not:
    Every computer has a unique IP Address.
    The IP address is a series of numbers that identifies your particular connections.
    If you have a wireless connection and a wired connection, you will have two IP Addresses.
    If you plug two separate computers into the same modem, your internet providor will see you have hooked up two separate connections, and may bill you as such.
    What a router does is it creates ONE IP Address for itself.
    You can hook literally hundreds of computers into a router, but your internet providor will only see 1 IP Address.
    Also, a router often has built in security protection, which will help protect you from being attacked by viruses/hackers, etc.


    When looking for a router, make sure it is actually a router, and not a hub (they can look similar)
    a hub will allow you to connect multiple computers to one connection, but doesn't have the security features of a router.
    Getting a wireless router is better still, as you will get the freedom of being able to take your laptop with you wherever you want (yes, even when your creating a story for the taking a dump thread)
    but make sure you read the manual and protect your wireless connection or other people will be able to "borrow" your wireless signal.
    If you can't figure out how to encrypt your wireless signal
    , just ask, i'm sure there are many people on this board who have done it before.
    Don't worry Ned I know how to do this.
    Because I told you how to do it.

    =Z=
    You should have made a seperate "Look at Me" thread to tell us that.
    :P
    BANNED OR DEAD...I'LL TAKE EITHER ONE

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NordicNed's New Tattoo, you rate it !
    By NordicNed in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 11:45 AM
  2. NordicNed's Father, Remembered.
    By NordicNed in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 11:27 AM
  3. NordicNed's gift to all PPO members.
    By NordicNed in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 325
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 02:07 PM
  4. NordicNed's, First personal Hatch of 2008
    By NordicNed in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 08:07 AM
  5. NordicNed's Gamebird Breeding, takes a wrong turn!
    By NordicNed in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 06:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •