Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    happy camper is offline Team Alumni

Anybody feel like proofreading an essay on chemical dependency counselors?

its a research essay, meaning we had to do extensive research on a topic and write an essay on it. i chose chemical dependency counselor because thats the job i am studying for. constructive criticism is highly encouraged. especially towards the end of the essay where i feel like i fizzled out. thanks. i gotta hand this in on thursday, its about 90% done.

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor
    Think of licensed alcohol and drug counselors (LADC) as the last line of defense against drug addiction. A counselor is needed only when all other defenses have failed, whether that is parenting, scare tactics, educational programs, or law enforcement.
    Sometimes a person will choose this career because of past chemical dependency with their friends, family, or themselves. Personally, I’ve never had chemical dependency cross paths with my life. I’m choosing this career based on the availability of jobs, interest in the field, and a general desire to make a difference.
    Richard Fields has developed many educational programs relating to alcohol drug counseling and also has over thirty years experience. He defines addiction with three parts; the user’s life seems to revolve around the object of their addiction, the user cannot avoid using the object of their addiction for a significant amount of time, the user will suffer many negative consequences, but will be unwilling to give up the object of their addiction (Fields 129). Imagine doing your favorite activity. What if that activity was harmful to you? How hard would it be to stop doing that harmful activity? This is only scratching the surface of what people with an addiction struggle with everyday.