Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Howdy and such

PurpleAndy is offline Starter

Howdy and such

I'm Andy, in case the username didn't give me away. I'm 24, currently residing in Austin, Texas, and am really upset that I didn't find this website until yesterday. I've been suffering the almost illegible format of the rivals.com forums for a long time now, and was surprised and overjoyed to find a website with nice, neat forums and intelligent people posting on them.

I graduated from the University of Texas in 2002, and have been working as a Case Manager for a law firm in Austin since last year. Intellectual property law is boring, but that's what weekends are for, right?

I was born in St. Paul, and have been a Vikings fan since I developed a football consciousness, probably around the age of 12. My father has been a Vikings fan since his youth, and is the only person I know that still owns and wears an official Fran Tarkenton jersey every Sunday during football season. My childhood is peppered with memories of him cheering for Sammy White and Amhad Rashad, a general dislike for Wade Wilson and Les Steckel, and a strong dislike for Herschel Walker.

Since 1993, the Vikings have been about 90% of my sports world. Even though Jim McMahon was the quarterback that year. Once I started at UT I developed a following for UT football, but it has never come close to my fervor for anything Vikings. One of the best days of my life thus far was the day my dad brought home a satellite dish and purchased Sunday Ticket. Before then, I was regulated to about 3 televised Vikings games a year, and whatever highlights they showed. How we ever survived without the internet is beyond me.