Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    V-Unit is offline Jersey Retired

V's Preview (at Lions)

Disclaimer: I am not a fan. I am a football expert. If you ridicule and pick apart this post, you are wrong.

Many have stated their concerns about the Lions passing attack. I think the key here is that we are not scared of their offense, but just their passing attack. The Lions are very one-dimensional and we go into the game knowing that if we can limit their pass, they won't be able to run, at all. On the other side of things the questions continually center around TJ. Do we stick to our run to keep pressure off of him, or has he progressed enough to expose a weak pass D?

When the Lions have the ball:
    Martz is going to try to light us up. I expect to see plenty of 3 and 4 receiver sets, as the Lions are a bit lacking at the tight end and fullback positions. First of all, the key for the Vikings will be to take the same bend-but-don't-break style we took against the Falcons. Kitna is going to get his yards, but we have to eliminate the big play. That involves not getting beat deep, giving up underneath routes instead. It also involves good tackling, which I saw everywhere from our D last weekend. Next comes pressure from the defensive line. It will be interesting whether we continue to blitz or rely on our front four to dominate the Lions OL, as they should. If we do blitz, I would like to see our CBs bumping at the line, but I have not seen a defense that plays bump-and-run less than the Cover 2. Incompletions, Sacks, and Turnovers early in the game will force the Lions to be on their heels and take a more conservative approach. The second they start trying to run because we are all over the pass, the game is over.