Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    StillPurple is offline Hall of Famer

Zone blocking - again in '08 ?

Ok, I admit right up front that I am not an expert at all in this area. I am talking about zone blocking on the off. line. I know we did some of it last year. Maybe I am wrong, but I think we (AP + TJ) took some backfield sacks due to missed zone blocking assignments (looked that way to me sometimes). I just want to start a discussion of this. Do you think we will do it again this year, and is it good ? bad ? or not really that important ?

ThorSPL is offline Team Alumni

Re: Zone blocking - again in '08 ?

I do not expect the Vikings to change their blocking schemes much from last year.
    They return their entire offensive line and I don't see them changing them which will require additional time to "gel"

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

www.twitter.com/ThorSPL

NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

You are absolutely correct in saying that we took some sacks due to missed blocking assignments.
    That is something we need to continue to improve upon.

I do see us continuing the zone blocking scheme though.
    Zone blocking is great for what we do best - running the ball.
    It opens up lanes to run in.
    That, and switching blocking schemes is always ahrd, so I would prefer to stay with the one we have used for three years.

One of the worst people for missing their blocking assignments was AD.
    I don't think he was used much as a blocker in college, and certainly not in a ZB scheme.
    And it showed.
    That was one of the big reasons that AD was never in on passing downs (which made our offense transparent at times).
    I expect this to be an area he improves at greatly this year, which will in turn make the play action pass with AD incredibly dangerous...
    Zeus wrote:
    When are you going to realize that picking out the 20 bad throws this year and ignoring the 300 good ones does not make your point?

=Z=