Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound

Understanding the Vikings Tampa 2

Understanding the Vikings: The Tampa-2 and its Front Seven

Understanding the Vikings: The Tampa-2 and its Front Seven - Daily Norseman

"If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    That was a pretty good article.

The nose tackle will need to consistently demand that double team in order to make the Tampa-2 effective. This is how the over alignment of the Tampa system deals with the problems of zone-read running endemic to traditional one-gap 4-3 systems, and why Pat Williams was a more important part of our defense than many commentators gave him credit for.
    I was hoping they would elaborate a bit more on this so that a few on here would understand what I've been harping about for about 3 years now.
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

2beersTommy is offline Team Alumni
    The Minnesota Vikings are well known for having a historically powerful defense. From their inception in 1961, the Vikings have had a top 5 defense for 11 of its 50+ years, and have ranked first in points allowed 6 times. Having never switched from a four man front, the Vikings have consistently built their defenses around a penetrating line.

um, the Vikes ran a 3-4 under Jerry Burns (I believe)..get your facts straight!!

Quote Originally Posted by 2beersTommy View Post
    The Minnesota Vikings are well known for having a historically powerful defense. From their inception in 1961, the Vikings have had a top 5 defense for 11 of its 50+ years, and have ranked first in points allowed 6 times. Having never switched from a four man front, the Vikings have consistently built their defenses around a penetrating line.

um, the Vikes ran a 3-4 under Jerry Burns (I believe)..get your facts straight!!