Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,266

    Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    [size=13pt]Team preview: Minnesota Vikings[/size]


    06/30/2007 - By:
    T.Sevransky
    experts.covers.com


    The Minnesota Vikings are the X factor in the NFC North division, the team with a tremendous amount of upside potential against the spread, but with probably an equal amount of downside potential as well....

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  2. #2
    COJOMAY is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    7,005

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    Well, I guess he pretty much covered the bases. They could be good or bad! What else is there?
    ;D
    He talks a lot about the lousy receiving corps and I will admit they are unproven.
    The the NFL Network last night had a nice interview with Mike Doss. The young man acted very professional to me and seemed very excited to be with the Vikings and said he and the team had a lot to prove. He admitted they were rebuilding but said that he thought they would be better than a lot of people anticipate. He had good things to say about TJ. He said he wouldn't wear his Super Bowl Ring until he won it on the field.
    I don't think that this writer's take on Childress was very fair but it's possible. Childress was a first year coach and took on too many responsibilities. He won't be making that mistake again. He's learning from his mistakes and seems to have good repoire with the team this year. I haven't heard any player say anything bad about him this year.
    He's becoming a better coach and the team is in a rebuilding mode. They will surprise some teams this year. They won't go 16-0 or maybe not even 10-6 but they will have more wins than last year and will surprise a few teams.
    Kentucky Vikes Fan

    When you require nothing, you get nothing; when you expect nothing, you will find nothing; when you embrace nothing, all you will have is nothing.

  3. #3
    BadlandsVikings's Avatar
    BadlandsVikings is online now Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    26,568

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    Really good or really bad....well there's a shock. :

    It’s plausible to picture a 5-3 start for the Vikings, but it’s equally plausible to picture this team at 1-7 or so and already done for the year
    Started out 4-2 last year and only won two more games.
    I like the idea of starting 2-4 and finishing 10-6, hopefully we the thump on the four trouble spots after the bye.

  4. #4
    tb04512's Avatar
    tb04512 is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,803

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    i hope we just have the opposite of last year, losing 8 of the last 10 was hard to cope with

    Thanks josdin00

  5. #5
    NDVikingFan66's Avatar
    NDVikingFan66 is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    2,831

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    I am cautiously optimistic this year.
    A line with one full year of working with the new blocking schemes, a new running back.
    I believe our backfield will be a 2 headed monster.

    If our running game is solid, T-Jack will do just fine.
    If our running game struggles, he will struggle.

    The one thing we learned from Chilly last year, was no matter what the score was, we stay the course.
    Meaning, lets pound out the running game.
    Doing that will protect T-Jack from making too many mistakes, and allow him to develop for future years.

    SKOL

  6. #6
    ThorSPL's Avatar
    ThorSPL is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    3,422

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    "tb04512" wrote:
    i hope we just have the opposite of last year, losing 8 of the last 10 was hard to cope with
    Thanks for the reminder, I lost a hell of a bet with that ending..


    Trust me, I'm a doctor.

    www.twitter.com/ThorSPL

  7. #7
    NDVikingFan66's Avatar
    NDVikingFan66 is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    2,831

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    losing is always hard to cope with

  8. #8
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,909

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    For me, at least, the Vikings are a fascinating team. I’ll watch Minnesota as closely as I possibly can in the preseason, doing my best to answer all the questions I’ve listed above. This team could lose a dozen games this year, or they could win ten or more. There is real potential for pointspread value betting on or against this team – I just don’t see a middle of the pack kind of season.
    Kindof says it all doesn't it.

    I for one am pretty excited to see this team take the field this year.
    As COJO said, we will suprise some teams this year.
    Additionally I think we will also suprise some some sports writers and a few of our Naysayer fans.

    I can't wait for the bandwagoneers, mutineers and rats to start jumping back on the ship.
    ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  9. #9
    PurpleTide's Avatar
    PurpleTide is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,210

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings


    I'm really ready for this season to get going..... All the wishy-washy people are gonna get the answers they've(and me too) been looking for. I really think Chilly has grown, and has much better communication skills. T-Jack brings mobility and a rocket arm. Troy W, in his third year is going to have a break-out season, we have a down-field Tightend in Shiancoe, a stable of talented runners, a O-line that has a year together under their belts. The defense will be even better this year, certainly a top ten D, with a much improved pass rush.

    So if we start out under the radar, we will catch some teams sleeping. I say let them take us lightly, and 9-11 wins is not a impossibility.

  10. #10
    Lotza's Avatar
    Lotza is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,203

    Re: Team preview: Minnesota Vikings

    pretty much. good article imo. He basically said what everyone is thinking.

    im just worried bout our recievers.


    everything depends on how the oline performs.


























    Go vikes!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ESPN - Team Preview: Minnesota Vikings
    By AngloVike in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 08:20 AM
  2. Minnesota Vikings 2008 Season Preview
    By Json in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 05:42 AM
  3. Minnesota Vikings 2007 Season Preview
    By singersp in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 07:31 PM
  4. Minnesota Vikings - NFC North Preview
    By singersp in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 06:41 AM
  5. Minnesota Vikings season preview
    By singersp in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 10:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •