Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 49

Thread: Suddenly

  1. #11
    VKG4LFE's Avatar
    VKG4LFE is offline Jersey Retired Tetris Champion, Monkey GO Happy 4 Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Hartford, WI
    Posts
    16,005
    The packers should be pissed at themselves for not putting up more than 12 points against the seahags haha

    I get the most pissed off looks from people with my VKG 4 LFE Wisconsin license plate, and I LOVE IT!!

  2. #12
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937
    Quote Originally Posted by singersp View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by thorshammer View Post
    What's funny is the review booth refs are not replacements and they still gave them the TD ...
    This.

    I think a lot of people don't know this or have forgotten it.
    Simultaneous catch is not reviewable.

    So, no, it wasn't reviewed and upheld.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  3. #13
    purplehelmut's Avatar
    purplehelmut is offline Pro-Bowler
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Central WV
    Posts
    467
    After witnessing the "Drew Pearson Incident" and literally scores of instances where the Vikings got screwed (let's review the '09 NFC Championship game, shall we?), by full-time refs no less, it really doesn't hurt my feelings to see Green Bay take one up the whazoo. I still despise all things Cowboys though, with a passion. OTOH, Green Bay should never have let themselves be put in the position of a last play to decide the game. Their Oline was terrible and they only scored 12 points. Most fans of any team would expect a loss after putting up 12 measley points.

  4. #14
    Freakout is offline Coordinator
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    846
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Simultaneous catch is not reviewable.

    So, no, it wasn't reviewed and upheld.

    =Z=
    It is if it the play is a score.

  5. #15
    midgensa's Avatar
    midgensa is offline Jersey Retired Free Kick Specialist 3 Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    6,312
    No ... all scores are automatically reviewed, but that does not mean the entire play is under review. For instance, a score can be reviewed, but the replay refs cannot then determine that offensive interference was missed and needed to be called.

    So, at that point, the replay refs are reviewing simply whether a catch was made and whether it was in-bounds. They cannot rule on who had possession first, last or if it was simultaneous.

  6. #16
    raptorman is offline Starter
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    200
    Well the good part of this is if the playoffs started tomorrow the Vikings would be the 5th seed, the Niners the 6th, and the Packers would be out.

  7. #17
    jmcdon00's Avatar
    jmcdon00 is offline Jersey Retired Snake Champion, Moto Trial Fest 2: Mountain Pack Champion, LL City Truck 2 Champion, Arithmetic sequence Champion, Troops Tower Defense Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,279
    Quote Originally Posted by raptorman View Post
    Well the good part of this is if the playoffs started tomorrow the Vikings would be the 5th seed, the Niners the 6th, and the Packers would be out.
    The bad news is the playoffs start in about 4 months.

  8. #18
    Minniman's Avatar
    Minniman is offline Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,426
    What's the problem? The rules are clear on a simultaneous catch. The ball goes to the offense.

    The field official and the booth got the call correct. At least that is what it looks like from the views I have seen in real time and slow motion.

  9. #19
    NodakPaul's Avatar
    NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    West Fargo, ND
    Posts
    17,602
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by midgensa View Post
    No ... all scores are automatically reviewed, but that does not mean the entire play is under review. For instance, a score can be reviewed, but the replay refs cannot then determine that offensive interference was missed and needed to be called.

    So, at that point, the replay refs are reviewing simply whether a catch was made and whether it was in-bounds. They cannot rule on who had possession first, last or if it was simultaneous.
    Simultaneous catch is reviewable when it occurs in the end zone. I didn't realize that until today.
    Zeus wrote:
    When are you going to realize that picking out the 20 bad throws this year and ignoring the 300 good ones does not make your point?

    =Z=

  10. #20
    midgensa's Avatar
    midgensa is offline Jersey Retired Free Kick Specialist 3 Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    6,312
    Quote Originally Posted by NodakPaul View Post
    Simultaneous catch is reviewable when it occurs in the end zone. I didn't realize that until today.
    Me neither ... though I think that the NFL might be just trying to blow smoke there ... but who knows. If I recall they did not show anywhere that that is a written truth, they just released it in the statement today.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •