Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    nolafan33 is offline Waterboy
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    12

    Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    Looking at the Vikings depth chart on the official site, it looks like this:

    LCB:
    Winfield
    Cook

    RCB:
    Allen
    Sheppard
    Griffin

    Obviously, Cook and Griffin are both out. That leaves the Vikings with only 3 corners.

    LCB:
    Winfield

    RCB:
    Allen
    Sheppard

    Am I missing something? The Vikes can't go into this game with only 3 corners active against the Saints passing O. With Brees at QB the Saints ran 4+ recievers 6 times per game and 3+ recievers 16 times per game.

    Do the Vikings have safeties that can play corner? Do yall have a corner on the PS that could become active? Someone fill me in.

  2. #2
    Culpepper_4717's Avatar
    Culpepper_4717 is offline Asst. Coach Chopper Challenge Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    592

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    There is a very slim chance Cedric Griffin will play on Thursday. I heard that Husain Abdullah has been playing corner at practice's this week.

  3. #3
    jmcdon00's Avatar
    jmcdon00 is offline Jersey Retired Snake Champion, Moto Trial Fest 2: Mountain Pack Champion, LL City Truck 2 Champion, Arithmetic sequence Champion, Troops Tower Defense Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,275

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    We will take out brees early, neutralizing the passing game.

  4. #4
    nolafan33 is offline Waterboy
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    Wow, just the fact that he has a slim chance is incredible considering his injury and time it happened.

  5. #5
    i_bleed_purple's Avatar
    i_bleed_purple is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Canadialand
    Posts
    16,776
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    just goes to show Chilly's brilliance. trade away decent depth at corner for a receiver, prior to cutting and trading two other receivers.

  6. #6
    midgensa's Avatar
    midgensa is offline Jersey Retired Free Kick Specialist 3 Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    6,223

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    i_bleed_purple wrote:
    just goes to show Chilly's brilliance. trade away decent depth at corner for a receiver, prior to cutting and trading two other receivers.
    To be fair ... you cannot make decisions based on possible injuries and they did not know Cook was going down.

    The trade was not that bad. We needed WR help ... and Cam seems to have fit in pretty well. Cook going down really hurt.

  7. #7
    purplejokr is offline Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The Beach
    Posts
    126

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    midgensa wrote:
    i_bleed_purple wrote:
    just goes to show Chilly's brilliance. trade away decent depth at corner for a receiver, prior to cutting and trading two other receivers.
    To be fair ... you cannot make decisions based on possible injuries and they did not know Cook was going down.

    The trade was not that bad. We needed WR help ... and Cam seems to have fit in pretty well. Cook going down really hurt.
    Agreed. Thems the breaks.

    The front four will have to put TONS of pressure on Brees and hopefully, Brees will make some mistakes that the Vikings can capitalize on. If not, it will be a long night for the Vikings or a 58-51 type shootout.

  8. #8
    tke0933's Avatar
    tke0933 is offline Pro-Bowler
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    402

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    Dre' Bly got cut. Would he be a possibility? Agreed we need more depth at corner.

  9. #9
    bleedpurple is offline Ring of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,940

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    tke0933 wrote:
    Dre' Bly got cut. Would he be a possibility? Agreed we need more depth at corner.
    He may be a decent pick up but i think chilly is looking at the big picture and that i'ts only one game and we should have cook/griff back in a few weeks. He is taking a big gamble on the D-line to get pressure though... And if i was gonna gamble on anybody on the team it'd be the d-line... should be really interesting game...

  10. #10
    purplejokr is offline Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The Beach
    Posts
    126

    Re: Reviewing the Vikes corner depth

    tke0933 wrote:
    Dre' Bly got cut. Would he be a possibility? Agreed we need more depth at corner.
    If Bly's body is warm, I'll take him! :laugh:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Reviewing the 2006 NFL Draft: NFC North
    By Marrdro in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 11:13 AM
  2. Have the Vikes turn the Corner???
    By kevoncox in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 10:37 PM
  3. Vikes Sign Dez White(so much for liking the depth)
    By Aberration in forum Vikings Offseason/Draft/FA Forum
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 08-07-2006, 02:46 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 09:43 PM
  5. Vikes looking to add depth
    By AngloVike in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2003, 01:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •