Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound

Pat Williams pumped up to play Bills

Posted on Wed, Sep. 27, 2006

[size=13pt]Pat Williams pumped up to play Bills[/size]

DAVE CAMPBELL
    Associated Press

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. - Pat Williams has a sprained ankle, and Wednesday's injury report listed Minnesota's heavyweight defensive tackle as questionable for this week's game at Buffalo.

His 50-50 status was purely procedural, because there's no way Williams will miss his first chance to play the Bills since he left after the 2004 season.

"It's my first time going back there, so I'm getting kind of excited," said Williams, who signed a three-year contract worth up to $13 million with $6 million guaranteed in March 2005.

Though Buffalo's coaching staff and front office have turned over since he left, Williams isn't shy about criticizing his former employer - which signed him as an undrafted rookie out of Texas A&M in 1997.

Coach Mike Mularkey, who resigned after last season, was replaced by Dick Jauron. President Tom Donahoe was fired, and Hall of Fame coach Marv Levy came in as general manager.

"I had a problem with the old coaching staff, but they're all gone," Williams said. "They didn't know what was going on there."

Gregg Williams, Wade Phillips and Levy were the coaches Williams said he liked, but he called Mularkey a "joke" and was not a fan of Donahoe's direction. The Bills were trying to re-sign Williams in 2004, but he decided to play the year out and enter free agency.

"It was hot garbage, and I told them so," Williams said. "I told them, 'Don't worry about it. I'm just going to play this out and do whatever.'"

Hard feelings? Hardly, since Donahoe and Mularkey are gone. He's good friends with cornerback Nate Clements, linebacker London Fletcher and linebacker Takeo Spikes, a trio Williams said he has daily conversations with. And the always-loud fans at Rich Stadium were great, he said.