Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired

Re: An Open Letter to Minnesota Vikings Fans(Harvin)

"gatorsfirst" wrote:
    Hey guys, this is the author.
    Thanks for all the feedback!

I was just worried about the kind of reception Harin would get, not knowing if the average NFL fan had any idea that for his entire Gator career he was not only a once-in-a-lifetime talent, but NEVER a "character issue". I get tired of media types piling on the same storylines, and was trying to point out where they were wrong, or at least playing up a fairly minor incident.

And I always thought he'd be one of the candidates for the top pick when he left, sort of like Reggie Bush. He is that sort of talent, but more of a natural at receiver. Not sure what NFL fans think of Bush any more, as he exists in NO primarily for the swing pass, but I still think Percy makes the difference for a couple Viking W's this year, and he was definitetly a steal that low.

I'm no expert on NFL football, so I didn't want to put too much emphasis on how I project his talents... but I didn't want our man to start off on the wrong foot with the Minnesota folks. If the reason he slipped was "character issues", then no doubt you got a steal because those just aren't there.

Projecting college talents to the pros is always tough, so calling anyone a "lock" would be folly... however, I think he's a better player than damn near 20 of the people drafted above him.
    Point being, if it's his talent or transition to the pros being the question mark, that's one thing... but if the drop in the draft was because of the single failed drug test... you guys got really, really lucky.
    To the point that I wonder if Brad Childress lit up with him, to make sure they had a shot at him.

However he got to the Twin Cities, we're all rooting for him.

-James
    James - welcome to PPO.

Honestly, for me, the biggest strike against Harvin was testing positive at the combine.