Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

My breakdowns for the KC Game

Disclaimer: I am not a football expert.
    I am a fan.
    Feel free to ridicule and pick apart this post as you see fit...

I actually wasn't going to do one this week as I am still flustered from the Detroit loss.
    But someone requested it, so here it is.

Viking's rushing attack against KC's rushing D
    Edge: Vikings
    We have the edge, assuming we actually employ the running game.
    We passed 37 times to 27 against Detroit.
    Considering that Detroit's secondary is the weakest part of its defense, this sounded like a good idea on paper.
    Unfortunately, that meant that we were game planning according to our opponent's strengths and weaknesses, and not ours.
    If KC comes out with 8 men in the box, keep pounding the rock.
    AP will break one eventually.
    Even on the drives that stall, I would rather punt than throw it away.
    At least with special teams we can win the field position battle, and that will make it a lot easier on our defense.

Viking's passing attack against KC's passing D
    Edge: KC
    Our passing attack has not impressed yet this year.
    I know we aren't going to be throwing the ball 80 yards down field, but we shouldn't be getting picked off 4 times either.
    Add to that the fact that TJ's status for the game is uncertain.
    If Brooks Bollinger starts, there will be much rejoicing in KC. Holcomb actually gives us a fighting chance.
    If TJ starts, it will be a good measure of his maturity to see if he can shake off last week's performance.
    On the receiving end, Ferguson was disappointing, and needs to step up his game.

Viking's OL against KC's DL
    KC was able to put pressure on both Schaub and Wrecks in their respective games.
    If Cook plays like he did in game 1, this would be a draw.
    But if he plays like he did in game 2, the edge definately goes to KC.