Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

My breakdowns for the Detroit Game

Disclaimer: I am not a football expert.
    I am a fan.
    Feel free to ridicule and pick apart this post as you see fit...

Keeping with tradition from last week(since it was so well received on the Atlanta boards
    :P), here is my breakdown for the Detroit game.
    I don't think this win will come as easily as last weeks.
    Unlike Atlanta, Detroit has an offense that can be scary at times.
    Luckily their defense is scary all the time (to them).
    It comes down to our good D against their good O, and our OK O against their crappy D.
    This will be a close game.

Viking's rushing attack against Detroit's rushing D
    Edge: Vikings
    Oakland's Lamont Jordon was more or less shut down against Detroit.
    He finished with 70 yards on 15 carries, but over half of those yards came off from 4 carries, one of which was against a prevent defense.
    But I think that speaks more to Oakland's crappy OL than Detroit's run stop ability.
    In the second half, Oakland came out running, and picked up 25 yards on three back to back carries, so it is definately possible to run the call against Detroit.
    Oakland was playing from behind all game, so they eventually abandoned the running game, other wise I think we would have seen bigger numbers for Jordon.
    The left side of our line should be able to overpower Cody and Edwards, and AP will have another big day.

Viking's passing attack against Detroit's passing D
    It is pretty rare that I will give us the edge in this category, at least this early in the season.
    But Detroit's secondary is god awful.
    McCown was able to go 30 of 40 for 313 yards against them for crying out loud.
    Curry had a great day receiving against Detroit, and Jordon looked good catching out the the backfield.
    Oakland was also able to generate quite a bit of YAC off from the short pass.