Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Blog Entries

My breakdowns for the Atlanta Game

Disclaimer: I am not a football expert.
    I am a fan.
    Feel free to ridicule and pick apart this post as you see fit...

A lot of people seem to be rejoicing now that Vick won't be coming into Minnesota.
    But to be honest, we might be in a worse spot now.
    Vick was a sub par passer who relied on his legs to get him out of trouble.
    We have the number one rush defense from last year, and a pass defense that has looked better, but is still suspect.
    We might have been better off with Vick.
    But that is moot now, so here is my breakdown on the upcoming game.

Minnesota OL vs Atlanta DL
    Edge: Atlanta
    Yes, Atlanta lost Kerney, but picked up Jamaal Anderson.
    Abraham is not the top DE in the business, but doesn't need to be to attack our right side.
    Atlanta will also be bringing in blitzes against TJack to keep him off balance, count on it.
    Our OL needs to have a good game.

Minnesota passing attack against Atlanta Secondary
    DeAngelo Hall will be facing Twill and Wade, depending on where he lines up.
    TWill has a speed advantage on Hall, but those under thrown deep passes will be picked if TJack isn't careful. If we are going to be successful passing, we are going to have to use the short game on Sunday.

Minnesota passing attack against Atlanta LBs
    Edge: Minnesota
    This should play into our strengths.
    The Atlanta LB corps isn't bad, but isn't great either.
    If TJack can tighten up his passes a little, we should ba able to complete those 3 and 4 yard passes all day.
    Unfortunately, a 4 yard pass won't do crap for us on 3rd and long, so we need to avoid costly penalties that put us in that position.

Minnesota running attack against Atlanta rushing defense
    Atlanta's nose tackle led the league last year in tackles for a loss, so don't expect us to run it up the middle much.