Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Defesive line

Paulbedy59 is offline Coordinator

Re: Defesive line

I also always try to remember,the worst pro player is still a helluva athlete.perhaps to those around him he is to slow,to fat,not strong enough.But compared to you and me and the average person,he is a monster.It,s all relative.
    If winning isn,t everything,why keep score?

ajefx is offline Rookie

This is one of the main reasons I feel Ted Cottrell has got to go. The guys on our D do not maintain their gaps and plays break down defensively and get very bad for us.

I appreciate this post because it really gives good insight to a lineman's job, something I have no first hand knowledge of. Thanks bro.
    <<Hates Ted Cottrell with a passion

Del Rio Guest

Well at least we agree on one thing Cottrell needs to go bye bye. I hope he makes me eat crow this season.

I didn't mind the line play I watch it every week after the games (cause I'm a freak), and I show it to my team, but the balance of the Vikings D seemed off.

I think there were a lot of people playing on islands and just by being on the defensive side of the ball you are at a disadvantage. Corners and safties get praised by being able to play on an island, However it is not a good thing to be in that situation. Usually something broke down if a LB is put on an island and ours were all season long.

Any way I dislike what Cottrell did last year. I hope this year he fixes it and plays a more solid aggressive defense. Hell let the offense know what you are doing, they still wont be able to get around it if it is sound.

Paulbedy59 is offline Coordinator

Perhaps he was scared to be aggresive.Sometimes when your trying to cover up weakneses,you can,t really be aggresive.At least thats what I,m hoping.Now that we have some more talent out there he will cut them loose a bit..
    If winning isn,t everything,why keep score?