Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    digital420 is offline Team Alumni

Culpepper has well-connected voice in corner

I saw this.. searched and didin't see it posted so here's the link and article.

http://www.startribune.com/508/story/223307.html
    Culpepper has well-connected voice in corner
    Insider Cris Carter says a wounded Daunte isn't getting his due from the Vikings.

DETROIT - There was evidence Thursday at the downtown Marriott that Cris Carter's profile has not suffered during the four years since he concluded putting up Hall of Fame receiving numbers for the Vikings.

Carter had finished up a football show on Sirius Satellite Radio. The show runs three days a week, from the opening of training camps in late July through the Super Bowl.

"I've been doing this for a couple of years," Carter said. "It's a schedule that keeps you involved, but it doesn't get in the way of other things."

Satellite radio is not the source of Carter's ongoing popularity. He appears with Dan Marino, Cris Collinsworth and Bob Costas on HBO's "Inside the NFL," a show with an immense following.

That's why Carter was greeted with cries of "Love you on HBO, Cris" and pleas for autographs by the folks hanging on the railing above the Super Bowl's Radio Row.

"We have the longest-running NFL show and we have HBO," Carter said. "You can't beat that combination. Being on 'Inside the NFL' brings notoriety, and it brings credibility."

Yes, our guy Cris has become a pro football sage. With that in mind, he was asked a simple question: "What's your opinion on what's happening with your team?"

The Vikings are Carter's team. And he didn't need a further hint to understand the real meaning of the question: What's happening with Daunte Culpepper?