Thread: THE BEAST!

VikingsTw is offline Jersey Retired

THE BEAST!

Last update: December 4, 2004 at 6:35 AM
    Making the right moves
    Mark Craig, Star Tribune
    December 4, 200

Whether he's aware of it or not, Vikings defensive tackle Kevin Williams is helping the Chicago Bears defensive linemen become better players.

"I have a training tape that I use to illustrate all the proper techniques," said Bears defensive line coach Karl Dunbar, who was Williams' defensive line coach at Oklahoma State in 2002. "Since this is my first year in the NFL, most of my tape is from Oklahoma State. So the guys have seen a whole lot of Kevin Williams' senior year [2002] this season."

They have seen Williams beat a reach block, drive the blocker upfield and make the sack. They have seen Williams hit a Texas A&M guard with such force and leverage that the poor guy was flopped onto his back, his head bouncing off the turf.

"My favorite," Dunbar said, "is the Nebraska game when Kevin is lined up in the three gap [between the center and right guard] on the goal line. First, the guard comes at him, but he slaps him aside and goes outside.

"Then the center comes at him, but he slaps the center aside and goes inside. It was perfect."

There's just one problem with overdosing the Bears on footage of Williams.

"Our No. 1 draft pick [defensive tackle Tommie Harris] is getting mad at me," Dunbar said. "Tommie went to Oklahoma."

Oklahoma State pulled major upsets against Oklahoma in Williams' junior and senior seasons.

"Tommie's still a little sensitive about it," Dunbar said. "So I think I'm going to have to update my tapes with some plays from this season."

Unfortunately for Dunbar, he won't be able to shake Williams as long as the two are in the NFC North together.

"Remember Kevin's sack near the end of our game at the Metrodome [a 27-22 Vikings victory]?" Dunbar asked. "After he made it, he got up and pointed over at me. I was excited for him but sad for us."