Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: 2014 Cap Room

snowinapril is online now Jersey Retired
    Quote Originally Posted by johnkdbr View Post
    Guys, Floyd is gonna be a stud! & Rhodes has really showed me that he could become a All-Pro Corner. .................................................. ......... I think we might be going to a 3-4 next year so draft are needs could be a little bit different.
    I am not an expert, but would Floyd work as a DT in the 3-4.

Seems like 3-4 DTs are the size of Jerry Ball. Guys that plant themselves and hold the line.

mountainviking is offline Team Alumni
    Floyd and KWill would both be ends in a 3-4. Guys that play NT in the 3-4 are usually around 350 lbs and athletes that size are rare. I don't think the 3-4 is a good idea for us, because we're missing too many pieces. Our LBs just aren't that good that we want a 4th one out there...I mean sure, Robison and EG would probably play OLB in that system and still rush the passer most downs, but it would still be a learning curve for all involved and some players might just not fit. Whereas if we can resign EG and pencil Floyd in as the under tackle, we've got 3 out of our 4 DL starters looking pretty good.

I think we need to spend some of that FA money on positions that are harder for rookies to make an immediate difference at, spots where experience is beneficial. MLB, ie. the QB of the Defense, might be one to look at, nickel back might be a good FA signing, and if we can find one, an upgrade (or two) at OG.

Then in the draft, it is starting to look like QB will be picked over by our first pick, so maybe hope for one of the big bad ass DTs in the first, snag McCarron or Boyd or whichever QB falls to the 2nd for us, go CB and DE in the 3rd, and maybe Mettzenberger in the 4th if he falls that far.