Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    damien927's Avatar
    damien927 is offline Asst. Coach
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    610

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    if we could make the playoffs and the packers go 2-14...... I would go friggin' crazy.... I realized last year that although I was very disappointed when the Vikes lost, it hurt ten times less if the Packers lost too. This should make for a very comfortable and soothing season for my emotions.

    Thanks Lotza!

  2. #12
    JellyBean2144's Avatar
    JellyBean2144 is offline Pro-Bowler
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    475

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    "whackthepack" wrote:
    He has the Bears going 13 - 3, I will take bets that the Bears do not finish with the record! 11 - 5 at best for the Bears.
    Bears might finish at 8-8 or worse. But 13-3? Not!!

  3. #13
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    "AWZeus" wrote:
    I think you have some work to do on your knowledge before you can tout your previewing skills by spamming a Vikes fan website.
    As a matter-of-fact, let's go back and look at your 2005 previews.

    I'll look at the NFC North and then the playoffs.

    NFC North:
    Walter says: Vikes - Projection: 12-4 (1st in the NFC North).
    Reality: Vikes - 9-7, 2nd in NFC North, missed playoffs

    Walter says: Lions - Projection: 9-7 (2nd in the NFC North).
    Reality: Lions - 5-11, 3rd in NFC North, missed playoffs

    Walter says: Bears - Projection: 9-7 (3rd in the NFC North).
    Reality: Bears - 11-5, 1st in NFC North, made playoffs

    Walter says: Packers - Projection: 4-12 (4th in the NFC North).
    Reality: Packers - 4-12, 4th in NFC North, missed playoffs

    Reality check: Of those, you got the Packers right, the Vikings and Lions horribly wrong and were close on the Bears. I give that a B-.

    Playoffs:
    Walter says:
    AFC Seedings:
    1. New England 14-2
    2. Jacksonville 13-3
    3. Cincinnati 12-4
    4. Kansas City 11-5
    5. Indianapolis 12-4
    6. Pittsburgh 11-5

    Reality:
    1. Indianapolis - 14-2
    2. Denver - 13-3
    3. Cincinnati - 11-5
    4. New England - 10-6
    5. Jacksonville - 12-4
    6. Pittsburgh - 11-5

    Reality check: You got 4 of the 6 teams right, with only the Pittsburgh at the #6 seed with and 11-5 record being spot on. Missing out on Denver at 13-3, tho, is a horrible prediction, so I've got to give another B- grade.

    Walter says:
    NFC Seedings:
    1. Minnesota 12-4
    2. Philadelphia 11-5
    3. Carolina 11-5
    4. Seattle 9-7
    5. Dallas 10-6
    6. Atlanta 10-6

    Reality:
    1. Seattle - 13-3
    2. Chicago - 11-5
    3. Tampa Bay - 11-5
    4. NY Giants - 11-5
    5. Carolina - 11-5
    6. Washington - 10-6

    Reality check: You only got TWO teams right and you were off by 4 games and 3 seeding spots on Seattle! Even if Carolina's record was correct, you had them as a Division winner, not a wild-card. Grade: D

    Playoffs:
    Walter says:
    WC round:
    NFC:
    Carolina 24, Atlanta 20
    Dallas 27, Seattle 13
    AFC:
    Cincinnati 38, Pittsburgh 24
    Kansas City 52, Indianapolis 35

    Reality:
    WC round:
    NFC:
    Carolina 23, NY Giants 0
    Washington 17, Tampa Bay 10
    AFC:
    New England 28, Jacksonville 3
    Pittsburgh 31, Cincinnati 17

    Reality Check: With your NFC seedings so horribly screwed up, you were lucky to pull the Carolina victory. But you screwed up the Steelers over the Bengals, so this merits only a C- in my book.

    Walter:
    Divisional Round:
    NFC:
    Carolina 17, Philadelphia 10
    Minnesota 31, Dallas 3
    AFC:
    Cincinnati 27, Jacksonville 10
    New England 34, Kansas City 17

    Reality:
    Divisional Round:
    NFC:
    Carolina 29, Chicago 21
    Seattle 20, Washington 10
    AFC:
    Pittsburgh 21, Indianapolis 18
    Denver 27, New England 13

    Reality Check: The Minnesota prediction not only pains all of us, it discounts the call of Carolina over Philly. And you're so far off in the AFC that's is barely worth looking at any more. Grade: Another C-.

    Walter says:
    Conference Championships:
    NFC:
    Minnesota 17, Carolina 14
    AFC:
    New England 23, Cincinnati 10

    Reality:
    Conference Championships:
    NFC:
    Seattle 34, Carolina 14
    AFC:
    Pittsburgh 34, Denver 17

    Reality Check: You had Carolina as the only correct pick and you did call on them to lose, but you didn't foresee the blow-out which Seattle (a WC round loser to you) laid on them. Again - your AFC picks are just wrong wrong wrong. Grade: D

    Walter Says:
    Super Bowl:
    New England 27, Minnesota 24

    Reality:
    Super Bowl:
    Pittsburgh 21, Seattle 10

    Reality Check: I'm glad your prediction of a Vikings loss proved to be wayyyy off, because that would have hurt more than not making the playoffs. Fact is, you didn't come close in predicting one AFC "dynasty" to add another title instead of picking an old AFC "dynasty" to add one for the thumb. Grade: F.

    Overall: Walter - you are victimized like all predictors by making your predictions wayyyy too early. Your overall grade is a D, which is probably about where you'll be following the 2006 season.

    Thanks for spamming us! See you next year!

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  4. #14
    cajunvike's Avatar
    cajunvike is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    32,063

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    Look for this thread to get LOCKED...because of the SPAM!!!

    You shoulda asked Webby FIRST!!!
    BANNED OR DEAD...I'LL TAKE EITHER ONE

  5. #15
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    "cajunvike" wrote:
    Look for this thread to get LOCKED...because of the SPAM!!!

    You shoulda asked Webby FIRST!!!
    Awww - come on! I'm having so much fun showing him to be a imbecile!

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  6. #16
    NodakPaul's Avatar
    NodakPaul is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    West Fargo, ND
    Posts
    17,601
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    "AWZeus" wrote:
    "soswalter" wrote:
    I think you'll favor my prediction.
    I dunno, Walter. When you say things like:

    Defense This Year: Although Minnesota's defense wasn't anything special last year, it was a lot better than the unit that was ranked near the bottom of every category in 2004. That's because the Vikings added nose tackle Pat Williams, defensive end Erasmus James, linebacker Napoleon Harris, cornerback Fred Smoot and free safety Darren Sharper to the roster last offseason.
    ...it kinda shows that you have no clue. Erasmus James had minor success, Nap Harris didn't play and Fred Smoot got hurt and then sent to the sidelines after Steve Smith treated him like a HS backup.

    And how can you say this:
    Antonie Winfield didn't play up to [his] potential last season
    I mean - he was second on the team in tackles! How can you say he didn't play up to his potential?

    I think you have some work to do on your knowledge before you can tout your previewing skills by spamming a Vikes fan website.

    =Z=
    A little harsh on the no clue claim IMHO.

    James may have had minor success, but he still contributed to a DL that was still a step up from 2004, which was the point being made. Smoot performed well when he was utilized well. The issue of how badly out of place he was due to Teddy C's defensive scheme has been beaten to death, so I won' tbother bringing it up here. Napo did play last year too, he just didn't live up to his expectations. In fact, he played in every game except the away game at Detroit. He started against Tampa Bay, NO, and Atlanta. Like Smoot, I think Napo suffered from poor coaching as well, although unlike Smoot, I don't think Napo will have a roaring comeback this year.
    Zeus wrote:
    When are you going to realize that picking out the 20 bad throws this year and ignoring the 300 good ones does not make your point?

    =Z=

  7. #17
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    "NodakPaul" wrote:
    "AWZeus" wrote:
    "soswalter" wrote:
    I think you'll favor my prediction.
    I dunno, Walter. When you say things like:

    Defense This Year: Although Minnesota's defense wasn't anything special last year, it was a lot better than the unit that was ranked near the bottom of every category in 2004. That's because the Vikings added nose tackle Pat Williams, defensive end Erasmus James, linebacker Napoleon Harris, cornerback Fred Smoot and free safety Darren Sharper to the roster last offseason.
    ...it kinda shows that you have no clue. Erasmus James had minor success, Nap Harris didn't play and Fred Smoot got hurt and then sent to the sidelines after Steve Smith treated him like a HS backup.

    And how can you say this:
    Antonie Winfield didn't play up to [his] potential last season
    I mean - he was second on the team in tackles! How can you say he didn't play up to his potential?

    I think you have some work to do on your knowledge before you can tout your previewing skills by spamming a Vikes fan website.

    =Z=
    A little harsh on the no clue claim IMHO.
    I have no patience or sympathy for spammers.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  8. #18
    Potus2028 is offline Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    Minnesota is just 4-25 when playing outdoors the past four seasons
    I HATE THAT STAT!!!

    we've beat the packers at home twice.. once in the playoffs.. which is way harder than a regular season game.

    its not the fact that we cant win outside.. its just that the teams outside are good

    last year's outdoor losses
    bengals.. for the first year in a long time they gelled and were good
    panthers.. they went to the NFC championship.. so we naturally lost to them at home!
    bears.. c-pepp at the helm, and beginning of the year-ish.. against the division winning team (granted we did beat them in the dome later, but they were resting players)

    so its not like we suck outside.. caus we beat the giants who made it to the playoffs

    its all circumstancial..that stat is true, but it isnt reflective of the truth.

    example.. pittsburgh has only won like 5 games in a dome since 1998.. caus they havent played many games in a dome since 1998..

    so there it is
    i m better than you, so just give up...

  9. #19
    ultravikingfan's Avatar
    ultravikingfan is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    24,514

    Re: 2006 NFC North Season Preview

    Yup, spammer.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. NFC North preview - Breaking Down the NFC North
    By singersp in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 10:22 AM
  2. NFC North Preview From SI
    By COJOMAY in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 04:58 PM
  3. NFC North season preview
    By Prophet in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2006, 05:52 AM
  4. NFL.com NFC North preview...also Vikings preview
    By cajunvike in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2005, 05:16 AM
  5. NFL.com NFC North preview
    By packmanxxxi in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 06:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •