Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    scottishvike's Avatar
    scottishvike is offline Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Dunfermline
    Posts
    1,714
    Blog Entries
    3

    A Thought On The All TD's Get Reviewed Rule

    I know that the likelihood of this is pretty slim but stick with me. Imagine a Head Coach runs out of challenges, later in the game an opposition receiver makes a catch only after the ball hits the turf, however there is no whistle so he keeps running. Now if he scores a TD the play will be automatically reviewed and called an incompletion, BUT.... If he takes a knee at the 1 YD line, (like Westbrook did when he gave up the TD to run down the clock) it means its down to a coaches challenge, which he can't and the play stands. Obviously there are more instances on both sides of the ball where this could happen, be interesting to see if it ever does.

  2. #2
    Traveling_Vike is offline Coordinator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    885
    Interesting thought...

    There are lots of little loopholes like that in the rules, which could potentially be abused.

    Do they still do booth reviews on any questionable play in the last few minutes of each half? That could prevent this from working if it is too late in the game.

    My Meeple is purple. What color is yours?

  3. #3
    RK.'s Avatar
    RK.
    RK. is offline Ring of Fame Rally Cross II Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    4,458
    That would require a really heads up player. Also do they review the whole play or just whether or not he crosses the end zone line with both feet inbounds? I don't believe they are looking for holding on the play or pass interference etc. that would bring the ball back. I am not sure how much they are actually reviewing.

    WWBGD

  4. #4
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,266
    I'd rather see plays with penalties be reviewable & challengeable.
    Last edited by singersp; 11-06-2011 at 09:25 AM.

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  5. #5
    12purplepride28's Avatar
    12purplepride28 is offline Star Spokesman
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,852
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by singersp View Post
    I'd rather see plays with penalties be reviewable & challengeable.
    First time I've fully agreed with you in awhile
    I am NOT here to provide good football insight or rational observations. I am an emotional 19 year old Viking fan and I expect you to adjust your expectations from my posts.

  6. #6
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937
    Quote Originally Posted by singersp View Post
    I'd rather see plays with penalties be reviewable & challengeable.
    Each team would use up their challenges in the first 2 minutes of the game.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  7. #7
    Minniman's Avatar
    Minniman is offline Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,415
    Any play that ends in a dead ball within one yard of the endzone should be reviewed. Otherwise, if the refs call a play a TD, it is reviewed, but if they spot it at the one foot line it isn't. Both could likely be scores or no. One gets a free review while the other does not.

    I like the automatic review in general. Sideline catches and any fourth down play should get an auto-review also.

  8. #8
    Reignman is offline Asst. Coach
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    629
    Yeah I don't see many players being heads up enough to do something like that. Most of them are unaware of what most of the rules are as it is. A few years ago McNugget didn't even know games can end in a tie.

    But yeah the whole system is messed up and badly flawed. Look at the Webb no facemask call last week. It's a non scoring play that cost us a chance to win. I'd like to see something similar to what they do in college where a booth reviews every play on the fly and can buzz down to stop play when something is missed.

  9. #9
    tastywaves's Avatar
    tastywaves is offline Ring of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,869
    Quote Originally Posted by Reignman View Post
    Yeah I don't see many players being heads up enough to do something like that. Most of them are unaware of what most of the rules are as it is. A few years ago McNugget didn't even know games can end in a tie.

    But yeah the whole system is messed up and badly flawed. Look at the Webb no facemask call last week. It's a non scoring play that cost us a chance to win. I'd like to see something similar to what they do in college where a booth reviews every play on the fly and can buzz down to stop play when something is missed.
    I like the college system as well. Seems to give the best results and the good conferences seem to have figured out how to do it without impacting the game flow too much.

  10. #10
    jmcdon00's Avatar
    jmcdon00 is offline Jersey Retired Snake Champion, Moto Trial Fest 2: Mountain Pack Champion, LL City Truck 2 Champion, Arithmetic sequence Champion, Troops Tower Defense Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,278
    They need to allow a 4th challenge if the first 3 are correct. Doesn't seem like the team should be penalized because the officials are trying to screw them. Not sure if this has ever come into play, but it should be addressed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •