Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    Picked this up to read on airplanes this weekend.
    I'm about 2/3rds of the way through it and, I must say, this is a FABULOUS look at the NFL.
    Well written, easy to read, chock full of insight.
    I *highly* recommend it for anyone who wants good insight on tons of things that we, as fans, never truly get to see.

    http://www.amazon.com/More-than-Game...5453069&sr=1-1

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  2. #2
    nephilimstorm's Avatar
    nephilimstorm is offline Star Spokesman
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    2,184

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    Thanks for posting this Zeus.
    I appreciate it because I want to read it and see what happens behind the scenes.

  3. #3
    gregair13's Avatar
    gregair13 is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    14,576

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    I am actually reading it right now too. I am done the Coaches chapter. I hope to finish it this week.
    We're bringing purple back.

  4. #4
    jmcdon00's Avatar
    jmcdon00 is offline Jersey Retired Snake Champion, Moto Trial Fest 2: Mountain Pack Champion, LL City Truck 2 Champion, Arithmetic sequence Champion, Troops Tower Defense Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,275

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    I'll wait for the movie.

  5. #5
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    "Zeus" wrote:
    Picked this up to read on airplanes this weekend.
    I'm about 2/3rds of the way through it and, I must say, this is a FABULOUS look at the NFL.
    Well written, easy to read, chock full of insight.
    I *highly* recommend it for anyone who wants good insight on tons of things that we, as fans, never truly get to see.

    http://www.amazon.com/More-than-Game...5453069&sr=1-1
    Finished the book last night.
    What a great read.
    The last chapter digs into the possibility of a labor stoppage in 2011 and how short-sighted (but seemingly inevitable, at least to Billick) it would be.

    Once again, if you love the NFL and the business of putting a team together and how it executes (some GREAT stuff on the Cover 2), then I highly recommend that you put this one on your Christmas lists.

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  6. #6
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    Thanks Z.
    You know how much I love books of this nature.
    I will definately add it to my collection.
    Might be a good read while I am in the closet the next week or so.
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  7. #7
    happy camper's Avatar
    happy camper is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    2,445

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    "Marrdro" wrote:
    Thanks Z.
    You know how much I love books of this nature.
    I will definately add it to my collection.
    Might be a good read while I am in the closet the next week or so.
    When are you planning on coming out of the closet?
    :P
    "There is good and there is evil. And evil must be punished. Even in the face of Armageddon I will not compromise."

  8. #8
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    "happy" wrote:
    "Marrdro" wrote:
    Thanks Z.
    You know how much I love books of this nature.
    I will definately add it to my collection.
    Might be a good read while I am in the closet the next week or so.
    When are you planning on coming out of the closet?
    :P
    LOL, get done with this one in about 10 days.
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  9. #9
    gregair13's Avatar
    gregair13 is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    14,576

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    I just finished the book and would like to talk about it with those who have read it.

    Zeus, what are your thought on the book as a whole and some of the issues he brings up/ Are we having a work stoppage in 2011? Its the NFL screwed? What about the chapter entitled The Future, would those things works?
    We're bringing purple back.

  10. #10
    V4L's Avatar
    V4L
    V4L is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    20,612

    Re: PPO Book Review - "More Than a Game" by Brian Billick

    Thinking about picking it up

    Looks like a solid book.. And I like Billick

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Book Review: NFL Unplugged
    By Zeus in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 11:53 AM
  2. (Merged) Brian Billick
    By ultravikingfan in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2008, 10:42 PM
  3. Brian Billick Rats Out Eric Mangini, Also a Rat
    By Prophet in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 10:27 AM
  4. Brian Billick? Idiot or Genius?
    By Webby in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-28-2005, 06:03 PM
  5. Brian Billick or Jeff Fisher for coach?.....Maybe?!
    By johnsherwood in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-27-2005, 04:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •