Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
  1. #21
    cajunvike's Avatar
    cajunvike is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    32,063

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "jmcdon00" wrote:
    "The" wrote:
    "Zeus" wrote:
    "The" wrote:
    On that subject though, I do have to give out one more floop you to Comcast, who holds a monopoly over cable internet access in my area. The only alternative is a (much) slower DSL line, and I get raped paying for the cable line. OK, rant off, now back to your regularly scheduled defending of overpaid cable and NFL whores.
    You do understand that the monopoly on cable internet access is due to your county or municipality and their contract with a provider, right?

    =Z=
    Yes. I do. And technically neither the city nor Comcast would call it a monopoly because a few other broadband service providers (including the likes of AT&T) have been given contracts as well over the past few years. However, as I underall of these companies are forced to use DSL because Comcast owns the cable lines and ain't sharing (for obvious reasons). So until another company would be willing to come in and install their own cable lines, Portland's hands are basically tied and we're stuck with Comcast.

    However... the city of Portland is tentively planning on beginning construction on a city-owned fiber optic network through to be used for high spped internet access. This would obviously blow open the doors to competition, but at (I fear) a ridiculously outlandish cost to the city.
    We're getting a fiber optic network in Monticello,mn. They had a vote a while back and looking at all the information it was really a no brainer to go with it. It doesn't cost the city a thing because it will be all paid for throught subscriptions(phone, internet, cable), and it will still be cheaper than the current options(cable, dsl).
    http://www.monticellofiber.com/
    I've actually been to Monticello before...cool town (my wife's best friend lives in Buffalo, on Lake Pulaski).
    BloodyHorns and I have already discussed that though...we even both know someone in common...small world, eh?
    BANNED OR DEAD...I'LL TAKE EITHER ONE

  2. #22
    Mr Anderson's Avatar
    Mr Anderson is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    7,686

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    Verizon FiOs.

    It's great. I'm at school and the internet here is literally 50x slower than at home. I load a 5 minute youtube video in seconds at home, and here it takes me at least 5-10 minutes. NFL Network is included with FiOs, picture quality is great, I have never lost my internet connection to the main computer in the house(only to ones connected wirelessly, but that's no big deal, it happens to every network), and haven't experienced any TV problems either.

  3. #23
    The Dropper's Avatar
    The Dropper is offline Star Spokesman
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portland, Ore.
    Posts
    2,101

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "Mr" wrote:
    Verizon FiOs.

    It's great. I'm at school and the internet here is literally 50x slower than at home. I load a 5 minute youtube video in seconds at home, and here it takes me at least 5-10 minutes. NFL Network is included with FiOs, picture quality is great, I have never lost my internet connection to the main computer in the house(only to ones connected wirelessly, but that's no big deal, it happens to every network), and haven't experienced any TV problems either.
    Yeah, Verizon will apparently be doing that here on the West Coast also, but (and I'm quiteabitlesssureonthis) as I understand it they're only installing it in the city proper, but not directly to houses. Meaning that if you want it, you need to pay to have the last 100 yards or whatever installed. Apparently this is stupid expensive. I don't know if any of this is true but it's the word on the street.

  4. #24
    C Mac D's Avatar
    C Mac D is offline Posting to P'own
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    13,408

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "Mr" wrote:
    Verizon FiOs.

    It's great. I'm at school and the internet here is literally 50x slower than at home. I load a 5 minute youtube video in seconds at home, and here it takes me at least 5-10 minutes. NFL Network is included with FiOs, picture quality is great, I have never lost my internet connection to the main computer in the house(only to ones connected wirelessly, but that's no big deal, it happens to every network), and haven't experienced any TV problems either.
    Where do you go to school?
    Disclaimer: I'm an idiot.

  5. #25
    Mr Anderson's Avatar
    Mr Anderson is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    7,686

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "The" wrote:
    "Mr" wrote:
    Verizon FiOs.

    It's great. I'm at school and the internet here is literally 50x slower than at home. I load a 5 minute youtube video in seconds at home, and here it takes me at least 5-10 minutes. NFL Network is included with FiOs, picture quality is great, I have never lost my internet connection to the main computer in the house(only to ones connected wirelessly, but that's no big deal, it happens to every network), and haven't experienced any TV problems either.
    Yeah, Verizon will apparently be doing that here on the West Coast also, but (and I'm quiteabitlesssureonthis) as I understand it they're only installing it in the city proper, but not directly to houses. Meaning that if you want it, you need to pay to have the last 100 yards or whatever installed. Apparently this is stupid expensive. I don't know if any of this is true but it's the word on the street.
    They laid down all the wires in my town about a year before we got it. I think they just go town to town doing it as they spread away from the cities. I'm pretty close to NYC though, only a few miles away.

    "C" wrote:
    "Mr" wrote:
    Verizon FiOs.

    It's great. I'm at school and the internet here is literally 50x slower than at home. I load a 5 minute youtube video in seconds at home, and here it takes me at least 5-10 minutes. NFL Network is included with FiOs, picture quality is great, I have never lost my internet connection to the main computer in the house(only to ones connected wirelessly, but that's no big deal, it happens to every network), and haven't experienced any TV problems either.
    Where do you go to school?
    Rutgers University

  6. #26
    Zeus's Avatar
    Zeus is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota.
    Posts
    23,937

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "Mr" wrote:
    Rutgers University
    But you're not playing ball for Rutgers, right?
    You're on the track team there, I'm assuming....

    =Z=

    Thanks to Josdin for the awesome sig!

  7. #27
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "UffDaVikes" wrote:
    I love Direct TV
    Me to.
    It has NFLN on it and I love to watch the stuff were they actually break film down (several do it) were as ESPN you have to rely on Jaws and the "Factor Back" and you only get that on gameday.

    CABLE SUCKS.

    ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  8. #28
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    "UffDaVikes" wrote:
    floop ESPN.
    Damn, that is the second time in this thread you stole my point before I could make it.
    > ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  9. #29
    Mr. Offseason is offline Waterboy
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    I presonally hate comcast so I support the NFL 100%

  10. #30
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,218

    Re: NFL Net files complaint against Comcast

    http://www.purplepride.org/forums/index.php?topic=44160.0

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Comcast reaches deal with NFL Network
    By snowinapril in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 11:38 AM
  2. Didn't know where else to post this (about comcast)
    By NaughtyWord in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-09-2009, 09:26 AM
  3. FunkyasFlea's General Complaint Thread
    By funkyasflea in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 02:10 PM
  4. NFL Network filing complaint with FCC against Comcast
    By singersp in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 07:21 PM
  5. NFL Network Cuts Comcast Deal
    By NodakPaul in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 11:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •