Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is offline PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,271

    NFL Free Agent Preview

    [size=13pt]NFL Free Agent Preview[/size]

    Where will Randy Moss go? We peg the destinations of the offseason's moving vans.

    by Bill Barnwell
    sports.ign.com



    February 7, 2008 - For fans of 30 teams, the last second of the Super Bowl couldn't come quick enough. Now that we're officially in the NFL offseason, there are dreams of huge additions to your team like Adalius Thomas and Randy Moss, or the kind of drafts that add Aaron Ross, Kevin Boss, and Ahmad Bradshaw to the equation....

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  2. #2
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,935

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    Thanks for the read my friend.


    I still say that Hackett is a decent option for our offense considering who is out there.

    DJ Hackett, UFA, Seahawks -- Hackett's been amazing when healthy, but he's struggled through injury, and the Seahawks already have Deion Branch, Bobby Engram, and Nate Burleson at wideout. That could send Hackett elsewhere, and perhaps owing to his experience in a West Coast system and the struggles of Reggie Brown to break out into a #1 wideout, the Eagles smell like the favorites to get him.
    This guy might also come cheap and be a good fit next to the DT's we have.

    Justin Smith, UFA, Bengals -- The Bengals used the franchise tag on Smith last year, and despite his first-round pedigree, he's been somewhat disappointing. They weren't much of a defense with him, so expect them to let Smith go play somewhere else in 2008. We'll say that the Jets, who desperately need quality defensive linemen, will bring in Smith to play end.
    As for Safety, I think if the Cowboys mess up and let Hamlin hit the market we should go out of our way to get him as a primary FA pickup.
    If not, we move Griff to S, draft another guy and pick up a CB either in the draft or via FA.
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  3. #3
    Chazz is offline Coordinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    782

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    This guy might also come cheap and be a good fit next to the DT's we have.


    Quote
    Justin Smith, UFA, Bengals -- The Bengals used the franchise tag on Smith last year, and despite his first-round pedigree, he's been somewhat disappointing. They weren't much of a defense with him, so expect them to let Smith go play somewhere else in 2008. We'll say that the Jets, who desperately need quality defensive linemen, will bring in Smith to play end.

    I think Smith is a gimmie to wear purple. That is if we decide to go get him. I see only one reason we wouldn't make it a priority to sign Smith; if we already signed Suggs.


    I still say that Hackett is a decent option for our offense considering who is out there.

    I thought I was the only guy who wanted to pursue Hackett. Out of the god knows how many posts of people yelling at me for wanting to keep T-Will, not one ever mentioned we bring in Hackett to replace him. I think we might be able to get him because of his injury thing. It might be a kind of second chance for him, but we won't know until we see who goes after him.

    You just moved up a column my friend.
    ;D

  4. #4
    olson_10's Avatar
    olson_10 is offline Ring of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    4,215

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    this is from a video game website, so i wouldnt read into it too much
    People who see life as anything more than pure entertainment are missing the point.

  5. #5
    marstc09's Avatar
    marstc09 is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    23,180

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    Out of all the free agents I think I want Asante Samuel the most! Justin Smith and Suggs are also appealing.

  6. #6
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,935

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    "Chazz" wrote:
    This guy might also come cheap and be a good fit next to the DT's we have.


    Quote
    Justin Smith, UFA, Bengals -- The Bengals used the franchise tag on Smith last year, and despite his first-round pedigree, he's been somewhat disappointing. They weren't much of a defense with him, so expect them to let Smith go play somewhere else in 2008. We'll say that the Jets, who desperately need quality defensive linemen, will bring in Smith to play end.

    I think Smith is a gimmie to wear purple. That is if we decide to go get him. I see only one reason we wouldn't make it a priority to sign Smith; if we already signed Suggs.


    I still say that Hackett is a decent option for our offense considering who is out there.

    I thought I was the only guy who wanted to pursue Hackett. Out of the god knows how many posts of people yelling at me for wanting to keep T-Will, not one ever mentioned we bring in Hackett to replace him. I think we might be able to get him because of his injury thing. It might be a kind of second chance for him, but we won't know until we see who goes after him.

    You just moved up a column my friend.
    ;D
    You need to read my posts a little closer then.
    Actually, there are a few on here who actually look at a player based on his fit in the scheme vice just his name recognition value.
    ;D

    http://www.purplepride.org/forums/in...5755#msg705755
    http://www.purplepride.org/forums/in...4038#msg704038
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    224

    Re: NFL Free Agent Preview

    I would love to see Hackett become a Viking

Similar Threads

  1. Fan Free Agent
    By Marrdro in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 04:26 PM
  2. Wistrom available as a free agent. What do you think?
    By Turboe in forum Vikings Offseason/Draft/FA Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 07:25 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2007, 07:20 PM
  4. Free Agent WR/RB Available?
    By bleedn_purple in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 08:49 PM
  5. Free Agent WR/RB Available?
    By bleedn_purple in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 08:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •