Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is online now PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,204

    NFC North preview - Breaking Down the NFC North

    [size=13pt]NFC North preview: Questions under center[/size]

    Quarterback issues could trouble all 4 teams in division, especially Vikings

    By Dan Pompei
    Tribune pro football reporter


    August 7, 2007, 10:33 PM CDT


    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  2. #2
    Prophet's Avatar
    Prophet is offline Jersey Retired
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    17,388

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    Favre had six games last season in which his passer rating was worse than 55—one more than Rex Grossman. What's more, Favre's yards per attempt of 6.34 ranked 23rd in the NFL.
    Didn't know those stats.
    The NFCN does win the 'battle of the network stars' award for QBs going into the 2007 season.
    Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. Mark Twain

  3. #3
    Marrdro's Avatar
    Marrdro is offline Beware My Spreadsheet, Bitches!
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    43,899

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    That my friend was a pretty good read.

    This is the most important nugget I saw in there.

    But through it all, Jackson has remained on an even keel
    Hopefully throwing him to the wolves to get the experience he needs isn't gonna rock his world.

    Keep on Keepin on TJ.
    ;D
    Many many thanks to my talented friend Jos for the new Sig.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/josdin00/Vikings/Marrdro_sig.jpg

  4. #4
    PurpleTide's Avatar
    PurpleTide is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,210

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center


    Chilli knows that defenses are gonna try to confuse Tarvaris, and is preparing him for the different looks he'll get. T-Jack, will have some bumps in the road, but let's hope he stay's on a "even keel", and doesn't get rattled when things don't go our way.

    Trial by fire is the best way to learn.

  5. #5
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is online now PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,204

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    [size=13pt]NFC preview[/size]

    Bob McManaman
    The Arizona Republic

    Sept. 1, 2007 11:13 PM


    NFC NORTH

    Predicted order of finish: Bears, Lions, Packers, Vikings.....

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

  6. #6
    PurpleTide's Avatar
    PurpleTide is offline Team Alumni
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,210

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center


    Ho Hummm, another 4th place prediction. I know that we've got many questions to answer, but with our strong running game, and solid defense, Tarvaris only has to play with-in the offense. Protect the ball, and we will be better than people think. I believe that when we get in mid-season form the passing game will have evolved and we will contend for the North Crown.

  7. #7
    C Mac D's Avatar
    C Mac D is offline Posting to P'own
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    13,406

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    The guys who write these articles are jokes. I'm sure they "know" what they are talking about. Something tells me a lot of these sport writers had Michigan going to the National Championship game at the end of the year too.

    You really can't take these guys too seriously because they don't really have any credibility. Their job is to guess the future, so even if they're wrong, oh well... they still have a job. What the he11 do they care if they are wrong (and trust me, they are).
    Disclaimer: I'm an idiot.

  8. #8
    jargomcfargo's Avatar
    jargomcfargo is offline Ring of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Posts
    4,776

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    Quote
    And in Minnesota, Tarvaris Jackson is the biggest wild card of all.

    That's just it. The author of the first articles premise is that all 4 NFC North quarterbacks are lousy.
    The other three have proven it. T Jack has not.
    We just don't know yet. Certainly no exciting performances to indicate greatness yet. But not a lot of negative either.

    We know the other three qb's are unlikely to improve. TJ certainly has a decent opportunity to improve with a running game and an improving O line.

    I would rather have TJ than Grossman,Kitna, or Favre.
    What takes a quarterback to the next level is not arm strength or mobility or any of that stuff. Its the ability to play on critical downs. Manage third downs, or red zones or four-minute or two-minute situations"
    Dilfer

  9. #9
    The Dropper's Avatar
    The Dropper is offline Star Spokesman
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portland, Ore.
    Posts
    2,101

    Re: NFC North preview: Questions under center

    I like that in the second article, the author chooses Calvin Johnson, a rookie that has never played a single down in a real NFL game, as the best offensive player in the NFC North. Apparently, even his theoretical value is good enough to beat out the likes of Donald Driver, Roy Williams, Matt Birk, or Steve Hutchinson.

    That or this author is a fucking moron whose statements should be taken with about as much seriousness as Hee Haw.

  10. #10
    singersp's Avatar
    singersp is online now PPO Newshound
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    52,204

    Re: NFC North preview - Breaking Down the NFC North

    [size=13pt]Breaking Down the NFC North[/size]

    Posted by Russell Loede
    nflgridirongab.com


    The NFC North is probably the weakest division in the NFL, as you may know. The only division close to it in comparison might be the “one-team” AFC South.....

    "If at first you don't succeed, parachuting is not for you"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Breaking Down the NFC North for the 2008-2009 Season
    By singersp in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2008, 04:32 PM
  2. Breaking Down the NFC North: 2007
    By singersp in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 08:38 AM
  3. Breaking down the NFC North
    By singersp in forum General NFL Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-18-2006, 07:25 PM
  4. NFL.com NFC North preview...also Vikings preview
    By cajunvike in forum Vikings Fan Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2005, 05:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •