Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    ThorSPL is offline Team Alumni

Re: My, Our, or This

I think that's just the type of situation where people need to shut the fuc|< up and worry about something that matters...

You cheer for a team, that's what counts.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

www.twitter.com/ThorSPL

Prophet is offline Jersey Retired

"cogitans" wrote:
    Is it also wrong to say, I hope we get X player in the draft, etc?
    Yes.
    You must say something like, "I hope the management team and Winter Park has given careful consideration to player X in the 2008 draft.
    He would make a great contribution to the Minnesota Vikings."
    But, more likely you will say, "I hope we pick up playerx, he kicks ass...i want him on my team."
    Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. Mark Twain

cogitans is offline Jersey Retired

"Prophet" wrote:
    "cogitans" wrote:
    Is it also wrong to say, I hope we get X player in the draft, etc?
    Yes.
    You must say something like, "I hope the management team and Winter Park has given careful consideration to player X in the 2008 draft.
    He would make a great contribution to the Minnesota Vikings."
    But, more likely you will say, "I hope we pick up playerx, he kicks ass...i want him on my team."
    Yup, that's why they call me an idiot

Thanks to PPE for the sig.

Zeus is offline Jersey Retired

"COJOMAY" wrote:
    A guy on a local sports talk show today had a "bit" on how wrong it is for fans to call his favorite team "My Team" or "Our Team." His point was we don't play on the team, we don't own any part of the team, no do we have any job with the team so why do we use the teams "My" and "Our?"

He said you may, for a college team, use the term "our" if you are a graduate of that school but if you aren't, the same rules as above apply.

He claims you should use the term "This team" or or the teams name or something similar when talking about your favorite team.